AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
tom.boh
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎02-17-2011
Message 1 of 19 (9,699 Views)
Accepted Solution

dimension style manager

9699 Views, 18 Replies
03-08-2011 01:20 AM

Hi

 

I'm trying to find dimension style manager in Autocad 2011. The one where I can set text size, arrow size, style etc.

I used to be able to find it on the dimensions toolbar but now it's gone. I mostly use Inventor so I rarey go back to Autocad.

 

even finding how to change precision of the dimension was a pain - it used to be double click and change it in the property window. After a few minutes of trying things I managed to find it under right lick menu. why the hell do you people keep moving things around? so annoying!

 

anyway - can anyone point me to dimension style manager so that I can create a new style and use it.

 

Thanks

for the command line type dimstyle.

Valued Mentor
TrevN
Posts: 548
Registered: ‎04-14-2008
Message 2 of 19 (9,689 Views)

Re: dimension style manager

03-08-2011 02:40 AM in reply to: tom.boh

for the command line type dimstyle.

Valued Contributor
tom.boh
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎02-17-2011
Message 3 of 19 (9,680 Views)

Re: dimension style manager

03-08-2011 03:11 AM in reply to: TrevN

brilliant - thanks a lot :smileyhappy:

Mentor
SugarCAD
Posts: 188
Registered: ‎02-10-2011
Message 4 of 19 (9,659 Views)

Re: dimension style manager

03-08-2011 04:35 AM in reply to: tom.boh

I have everything in same location as always. Double-Click a dimension and Properties opens. Sounds like someone has messed with the CUI.

 

Valued Contributor
tom.boh
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎02-17-2011
Message 5 of 19 (9,656 Views)

Re: dimension style manager

03-08-2011 04:43 AM in reply to: tom.boh

I have this ribbon thing switched on and I can't find anything

it takes ages to find buttons that I used for a long time in the past

 

i bet this ribbon thing was supposed to be an improvement but is it really necesarry for Autocad?

I use it in Inventor and it's fine, but why on earth change the product that has been working fine for years?

 

I don't knod even how to customise this thing - it used to be easy, but now...

 

eh never mind - dimstyle command worked great

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,526
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 19 (9,644 Views)

Re: dimension style manager

03-08-2011 05:08 AM in reply to: tom.boh

Switch to CLASSIC workspace if you want the old style menus: it's still an option.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,989
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 19 (9,642 Views)

Re: dimension style manager

03-08-2011 05:10 AM in reply to: tom.boh

Tom,

The intent of the ribbon and the clicks it takes to get to something after you learn how/where it was was the commands that you use of fen in a drawing (lines, circle etc) where to be one click away. The items or commands that you use only once in a great while are many clicks or a little more hidden from view. The dimstyles were meant to be created in a dwt file and not needing to be changed as you work in the dwg. However not everyone starts with a complete dwt file and have to create styles on the fly. The answer to that is the user can create their own ribbon panels/tabs with the commands they want to have the one click quick access. On one hand that works great for a cad manager to set up the workspace for users and follow standards or make it hard for the users to mess things up  while on the other hand we got 5 more fingers but need 3 more to get things done.  : (

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Valued Contributor
tom.boh
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎02-17-2011
Message 8 of 19 (9,641 Views)

Re: dimension style manager

03-08-2011 05:10 AM in reply to: tom.boh

How can I change it to classic style?

Valued Contributor
tom.boh
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎02-17-2011
Message 9 of 19 (9,635 Views)

Re: dimension style manager

03-08-2011 05:15 AM in reply to: tom.boh

@Murph

 

unfortunately nothing is set up where i work and unless I spend some time setiing things up (and for that I need to know where dimstyle is :-) than I need to do it on the fly.

 

Normally I use Inventor (started a few months back) so I'm not upto date with autocad - that's the problem. And I can't see myself going on the course as I use is very rarely. Switching back to classical should do the trick.

 

thanks

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,526
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 10 of 19 (9,635 Views)

Re: dimension style manager

03-08-2011 05:16 AM in reply to: tom.boh

WORKSPACE command

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.