AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
tom.boh
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎02-17-2011
Message 1 of 19 (9,972 Views)
Accepted Solution

dimension style manager

9972 Views, 18 Replies
03-08-2011 01:20 AM

Hi

 

I'm trying to find dimension style manager in Autocad 2011. The one where I can set text size, arrow size, style etc.

I used to be able to find it on the dimensions toolbar but now it's gone. I mostly use Inventor so I rarey go back to Autocad.

 

even finding how to change precision of the dimension was a pain - it used to be double click and change it in the property window. After a few minutes of trying things I managed to find it under right lick menu. why the hell do you people keep moving things around? so annoying!

 

anyway - can anyone point me to dimension style manager so that I can create a new style and use it.

 

Thanks

for the command line type dimstyle.

Valued Mentor
TrevN
Posts: 549
Registered: ‎04-14-2008
Message 2 of 19 (9,962 Views)

Re: dimension style manager

03-08-2011 02:40 AM in reply to: tom.boh

for the command line type dimstyle.

Valued Contributor
tom.boh
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎02-17-2011
Message 3 of 19 (9,953 Views)

Re: dimension style manager

03-08-2011 03:11 AM in reply to: TrevN

brilliant - thanks a lot :smileyhappy:

Mentor
SugarCAD
Posts: 188
Registered: ‎02-10-2011
Message 4 of 19 (9,932 Views)

Re: dimension style manager

03-08-2011 04:35 AM in reply to: tom.boh

I have everything in same location as always. Double-Click a dimension and Properties opens. Sounds like someone has messed with the CUI.

 

Valued Contributor
tom.boh
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎02-17-2011
Message 5 of 19 (9,929 Views)

Re: dimension style manager

03-08-2011 04:43 AM in reply to: tom.boh

I have this ribbon thing switched on and I can't find anything

it takes ages to find buttons that I used for a long time in the past

 

i bet this ribbon thing was supposed to be an improvement but is it really necesarry for Autocad?

I use it in Inventor and it's fine, but why on earth change the product that has been working fine for years?

 

I don't knod even how to customise this thing - it used to be easy, but now...

 

eh never mind - dimstyle command worked great

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,728
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 19 (9,917 Views)

Re: dimension style manager

03-08-2011 05:08 AM in reply to: tom.boh

Switch to CLASSIC workspace if you want the old style menus: it's still an option.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,092
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 19 (9,915 Views)

Re: dimension style manager

03-08-2011 05:10 AM in reply to: tom.boh

Tom,

The intent of the ribbon and the clicks it takes to get to something after you learn how/where it was was the commands that you use of fen in a drawing (lines, circle etc) where to be one click away. The items or commands that you use only once in a great while are many clicks or a little more hidden from view. The dimstyles were meant to be created in a dwt file and not needing to be changed as you work in the dwg. However not everyone starts with a complete dwt file and have to create styles on the fly. The answer to that is the user can create their own ribbon panels/tabs with the commands they want to have the one click quick access. On one hand that works great for a cad manager to set up the workspace for users and follow standards or make it hard for the users to mess things up  while on the other hand we got 5 more fingers but need 3 more to get things done.  : (

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Valued Contributor
tom.boh
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎02-17-2011
Message 8 of 19 (9,914 Views)

Re: dimension style manager

03-08-2011 05:10 AM in reply to: tom.boh

How can I change it to classic style?

Valued Contributor
tom.boh
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎02-17-2011
Message 9 of 19 (9,908 Views)

Re: dimension style manager

03-08-2011 05:15 AM in reply to: tom.boh

@Murph

 

unfortunately nothing is set up where i work and unless I spend some time setiing things up (and for that I need to know where dimstyle is :-) than I need to do it on the fly.

 

Normally I use Inventor (started a few months back) so I'm not upto date with autocad - that's the problem. And I can't see myself going on the course as I use is very rarely. Switching back to classical should do the trick.

 

thanks

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,728
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 10 of 19 (9,908 Views)

Re: dimension style manager

03-08-2011 05:16 AM in reply to: tom.boh

WORKSPACE command

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.