AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 11 of 33 (1,099 Views)

Re: Dimension scale changes

08-04-2011 07:09 AM in reply to: msweeney

Try using -PURGE (with the hyphen), then select R for Regapps. It will show that something that was created with CSG Editor is in the file.

It could be the cause, but if you could try with AutoCAD objects only then we can have a better idea.

 

Cheers,

Luciane

Contributor
msweeney
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Message 12 of 33 (1,092 Views)

Re: Dimension scale changes

08-04-2011 08:02 AM in reply to: luconceicao

I traced a model using only 3dfaces and extruded polylines and put the models side by side and dimensioned them.  I had better luck with the original model than I did with the newly created model.  But still had dimension issues with both.  (see attachment).  Then I used -PURGE and "R" and then re-dimensioned everything.  It worked perfectly on the new model, but I still had the same issue with the original model.

 

Seems to me I need to recreate all of my models in my library and purge any old items.  Then I can have a fresh start.  Maybe at the same time I can create them to be 3DS Max friendly so I can also create renderings as needed.  (something we're starting to add to our sales drawing presentations occasionally).

Contributor
msweeney
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Message 13 of 33 (1,089 Views)

Re: Dimension scale changes

08-04-2011 08:06 AM in reply to: msweeney

Wait, scratch that.  I started adding more dimensions to the front view and got incorrect dimensions on both models.  Updated drawing attached.  maybe I'll try a file without ever inserting the old model.  100% from scratch.  I'll let you know how that goes.

Contributor
msweeney
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Message 14 of 33 (1,088 Views)

Re: Dimension scale changes

08-04-2011 08:12 AM in reply to: msweeney

No luck.  Got the exact same results with a brand new drawing without any reference to any old models.  Using only extruded polylines and 3d faces.  Some dimensions worked, others did not.

Product Support
luconceicao
Posts: 583
Registered: ‎11-07-2007
Message 15 of 33 (1,086 Views)

Re: Dimension scale changes

08-04-2011 08:20 AM in reply to: msweeney

Can you attach this new drawing?

Cheers,

Luciane

Contributor
msweeney
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Message 16 of 33 (1,083 Views)

Re: Dimension scale changes

08-04-2011 08:28 AM in reply to: luconceicao

Here  is the latest version - no reference to the old models whatsoever.

*Pro
nestly
Posts: 1,283
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
Message 17 of 33 (1,075 Views)

Re: Dimension scale changes

08-04-2011 09:19 AM in reply to: msweeney

I really didn't look at your model closely the first time, but the way your're constructing it seems a bit odd with thick polylines and 3D faces, rather than solids and surfaces.


Anyhow, I think the problem seems to occur only when the dimension is snapped to a 3D face.  If it's snapped to the coincident point on the thick polyline, the dimscale is honored.

 

 

Contributor
msweeney
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Message 18 of 33 (1,070 Views)

Re: Dimension scale changes

08-04-2011 09:25 AM in reply to: nestly

Hmmm, that's interesting.  The only way to avoid using 3dfaces is by using solids, right?  But we do a lot of modifications/customization of our units so it's really easy to stretch a unit a few inches and add some options with faces and lines.  I don't think it would be as easy with solids.  Am I correct in thinking that?  I don't have too much experience with AutoCAD solids, although I do a lot of 3d work in Solidworks and 3dsMax.  I learned Acad solids back with version 10.  I'm sure it's much improved by now.  If I could do some quick modifications with solids, that would be great because I could easily import it into Max then.

*Pro
nestly
Posts: 1,283
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
Message 19 of 33 (1,065 Views)

Re: Dimension scale changes

08-04-2011 09:35 AM in reply to: msweeney

 

Hmmmm... seems this may be a decade old problem that they still haven't resolved.   http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-2000-2000i-2002-Archive/Dimensioning-3dface-in-paper-space-wil...

 

I don't work with 3Dfaces, so I can't really say which is easier/better.  A possible work-around is to put your 3Dfaces on a separate layer that you could freeze/OFF when dimensioning, since it seems you would always have a coincident polyline point at the corner of the 3Dface that you could dimension to.



Contributor
msweeney
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Message 20 of 33 (1,058 Views)

Re: Dimension scale changes

08-04-2011 11:34 AM in reply to: nestly

I started playing with solids and it seems like the wrong way to go for the type of drawings I make.  I can't simply stretch an entire model to a new length all at once, which is something I do all the time.  Faces allows me to do that.

 

What I really can't believe is that it has been going on for so long!  Those posts are from 2003! I moved to version 2012 from v14.  As ancient as 14 is, it still gave me the proper dimensions!  Why can't they figure this out, or why aren't they bothering to fix it?  I should be able to get a correct dimension for whatever I draw, no matter how I draw it, and not worry about whether or not it is in the right scale.  

 

Very frustrated over here...

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!