AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
New Member
missarch2b
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-20-2010
Message 1 of 6 (6,400 Views)

Delete Key not working

6400 Views, 5 Replies
11-20-2010 10:01 PM

Hi All!

 

I'm having issues with deleting lines in my CAD2010 version. I'm not having any drafting issues, I can draw a line with no problems, but when I select that line or any other object that I want to get rid of and hit the delete key nothing happens. I can use the hotkey 'E' to erase it fine, but I prefer to use the actual delete key. Everything works fine in my older version of CAD2006, so I'm confused why it is not working in 2010. Any ideas? Is there a setting that I may need to uncheck?

 

I read another post about this exact issue and the tried typing pickfirst and setting the variable to 1...it worked for the other user, but not me. Any other ideas?

 

Thanks so much!

*Expert Elite*
vladimir.michl
Posts: 249
Registered: ‎09-17-2006
Message 2 of 6 (6,384 Views)

Re: Delete Key not working

11-21-2010 12:44 AM in reply to: missarch2b

Besides PICKFIRST, there are other potential conflicts with graphics or keyboard drivers. See:

www.cadforum.cz/cadforum_en/qaID.asp?tip=3407

 

Vladimir Michl, www.cadstudio.cz


New Member
missarch2b
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-20-2010
Message 3 of 6 (6,347 Views)

Re: Delete Key not working

11-21-2010 02:01 PM in reply to: vladimir.michl

Followed the link you posted:


If you have the "Logitech Internet Navigator" keyboard, make sure you are using the latest Windows driver for this keyboard.

If you are using ATI card driver (Catalyst), try to disable the "ATI Taskbar icon application" (Display Properties\Settings\Advanced\Options) and kill the atiptaxx.exe process in the Task Manager. Also switch off 'Hot keys' in Hydravision properties.

 

 

In any case the PICKFIRST variable should be set to 1.


I'm not using a logitech keyboard. Pretty sure I don't have an ATI card driver. I'm using a MacBook with Parallels installed so I could then install Windows XP to run AutoCAD...maybe that's my problem, using a Mac for a PC program. Also, I could not figure out how to switch the hot keys off in hydravision. Do you have any other suggestions, tips, or tricks that I can try? Thanks for the help!


*Expert Elite*
vladimir.michl
Posts: 249
Registered: ‎09-17-2006
Message 4 of 6 (6,340 Views)

Re: Delete Key not working

11-21-2010 02:21 PM in reply to: missarch2b

Mac may have other conflicts in its drivers but I am not aware of them. Maybe other Mac users will be able to help you.

 

Vladimir Michl, www.cadstudio.cz

 


New Member
CHRISCOX1973
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-01-2014
Message 5 of 6 (740 Views)

Re: Delete Key not working

04-01-2014 12:56 PM in reply to: missarch2b

my escape key was working just fine until i lost power. it works in every other program except autocad.. how do I fix this -

 

*Expert Elite*
JGerth
Posts: 2,175
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Message 6 of 6 (719 Views)

Re: Delete Key not working

04-02-2014 12:19 PM in reply to: CHRISCOX1973

setp 1, get a UPS.

 

Then try the Reset option under your AutoCAD group on the Start Menu

 

<<or are you running a mac?>

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.