AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Member
sjrobinson
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-04-2004
Message 1 of 9 (14,987 Views)

Create 3D Solid from 3D Polylines

14987 Views, 8 Replies
08-04-2011 01:15 PM

Hi,

 

I'm trying to create a 3D solid from four 3d polylines that represent a bridge deck is this possible and any idea on how I would go about this.

 

If it is not possible to create a 3D solid, can i create a surface?

 

Thanks

 

Stuart

Alumni
LanceEdwards13
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎08-12-2010
Message 2 of 9 (14,953 Views)

Re: Create 3D Solid from 3D Polylines

08-07-2011 03:41 PM in reply to: sjrobinson
Yes you can create a solid from these lines. As long as they are connected you can use the EXTRUDE command to create a solid from those lines. You could run into a problem if the points are not on the same plane(z height) when extruding the object as they might become self intersecting.


Lance Edwards
Product Support Technical Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,849
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 9 (14,938 Views)

Re: Create 3D Solid from 3D Polylines

08-08-2011 05:40 AM in reply to: sjrobinson

I seriously doubt you can use Extrude as suggested.
Most likely Loft surface and Thicken.
Attach your dwg file here or an example dwg if your geometry is proprietary.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Alumni
LanceEdwards13
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎08-12-2010
Message 4 of 9 (14,926 Views)

Re: Create 3D Solid from 3D Polylines

08-08-2011 06:30 AM in reply to: JDMather

As you can see from the quick example below in the link you can EXTRUDE to a 3D solid when using 3D polylines. They 4 polylines need to be connected and closed for this to work.

 

http://screencast.com/t/E4wI4YM9Ze



Lance Edwards
Product Support Technical Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
Valued Mentor
hardin
Posts: 659
Registered: ‎08-30-2007
Message 5 of 9 (14,906 Views)

Re: Create 3D Solid from 3D Polylines

08-09-2011 04:01 PM in reply to: sjrobinson

Depends on how the 4 plines are oriented. you may have to create more polylines and perform a loft. You may be able to do a sweep. It's not clear what your 4 polylines are.

Contributor
CAD_Ninja
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-22-2012
Message 6 of 9 (14,099 Views)

Re: Create 3D Solid from 3D Polylines

03-29-2012 11:00 AM in reply to: sjrobinson

The link you provided is broken. I am also trying to EXTRUDE a 3DPOLYLINE and it will not let me. Please provide further direction.....

 

I have a multiple sloped drip pan drawn and need to show it in 3D. I drew it, then traced it using 3DPOLYLINE, and now I need to extrude it to show thickness.

 

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,849
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 7 of 9 (14,096 Views)

Re: Create 3D Solid from 3D Polylines

03-29-2012 11:14 AM in reply to: CAD_Ninja

Attach your file here for technique that really works.

Why not use Inventor or Free Inventor Fusion for this?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
CAD_Ninja
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-22-2012
Message 8 of 9 (14,089 Views)

Re: Create 3D Solid from 3D Polylines

03-29-2012 12:17 PM in reply to: sjrobinson

Attaching a drawing to let you solve it for me teaches me nothing.

 

I've got it to extrude, but it only extrudes the lines. It's not adding the top and bottom, so essentially all I have is walls, no floor or ceiling. I need the floor and ceiling. I've figured everything out thu far. It wouldn't extrude before because I have a straight vertical offset in the path. It can't extrude a vertical line. So I split them into to seperate entities. Created the walls, now I need the bottom. But when I extrude my two 3D Polylines (high section and low section), it just gives me the sides. Follow?

 

It's not on my machine, is the problem. Otherwise, I'd happily upload it. I hope my explanation was clear enough.

 

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,849
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 9 of 9 (14,069 Views)

Re: Create 3D Solid from 3D Polylines

03-30-2012 10:05 AM in reply to: CAD_Ninja

CAD_Ninja wrote:

Attaching a drawing to let you solve it for me teaches me nothing.

 

 I hope my explanation was clear enough.

 

Thanks.


I didn't bother to try to understand the explanation.  I prefer to communicate with geometry.

You might want to go through these (older) tutorials.

http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/CAD238/AutoCAD_2007_Tutorials.htm

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.