AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
stuartnathan
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎02-17-2005
Message 1 of 12 (271 Views)
Accepted Solution

Crash

271 Views, 11 Replies
01-31-2012 03:33 AM

Just installed R2012.

Load it with (presumably) standard prototype dwg.

If I unload this dwg and then load existing dwg - no problem.

If I do not unload prototype, and then open existing, AutoCAD hangs. I can move my mouse over toolbars etc, but not over dwg window. I need Windows Task Manager to quit Acad.

 

Any ideas?

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,982
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 12 (253 Views)

Re: Crash

01-31-2012 01:00 PM in reply to: stuartnathan

Hi,

 

>> Just installed R2012.

Seems to be installed with conflicts.

 

  • Have you tried to start AutoCAD "as administrator"? I do that every time when I get errors, it's the first try to see do I have this error also with full rights.
  • Have you tried login with another user account (Windows-user), same problem?
  • Have you installed service-packs for AutoCAD?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Contributor
stuartnathan
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎02-17-2005
Message 3 of 12 (252 Views)

Re: Crash

01-31-2012 01:06 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

I have administrator's rights.

I downloaded  all the patches when I installed it on Friday.

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,982
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 12 (250 Views)

Re: Crash

01-31-2012 01:10 PM in reply to: stuartnathan

Hi,

 

>> I have administrator's rights.

If you are running Windows7 (or Vista) you may have administration rights for your account, but that does not start software as administrator if you just double click the start-icon.

Start AutoCAD with right-click on the desktop icon ==> "Start as Administrator", it's different!

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Contributor
stuartnathan
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎02-17-2005
Message 5 of 12 (240 Views)

Re: Crash

02-01-2012 12:50 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Still crashes.

 

But wait a minute - you don't expect AutoCad users to have to do this?

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,982
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 6 of 12 (236 Views)

Re: Crash

02-01-2012 02:17 AM in reply to: stuartnathan

Hi,

 

>> you don't expect AutoCad users to have to do this?

No, should not be necessary. That's just for isolating your problem.

 

>> I can move my mouse over toolbars etc, but not over dwg window

Just one question ... you are also not able to start command by typing them into command-line?


If also keyboard-entries does not work (and you have got the same result when login in with another account) then reinstall AutoCAD, I have no other idea anymore.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Valued Contributor
stuartnathan
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎02-17-2005
Message 7 of 12 (232 Views)

Re: Crash

02-01-2012 02:59 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

I say crash, but actually AutoCAD seems to have locked up.

I can see the cursor move over the toolbars, but not over the drawing window.

I cannot type any command, nor use F2 to bring up the text window.

I cannot use any of the menus.

I cannot Terminate the application.

 

I have re-installed 2012 twice now.

 

I have also got the same copy of Autocad on my laptop. And this does not hang.

The difference is that I did not install the FusionPlugIn.

I removed the registry entry for it under Applications, but it re-appears. This seems to be the main difference.

I can't find a way of uninstalling the plugin.

Downloaded psebuninstalltool.exe but not there

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,982
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 8 of 12 (226 Views)

Re: Crash

02-01-2012 04:19 AM in reply to: stuartnathan

Hi,

 

thank your for the details, but I'm sorry, I have not more ideas (then the one to try it as another user, and may be the real clean uninstall).

 

Sorry, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,224
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 9 of 12 (223 Views)

Re: Crash

02-01-2012 05:44 AM in reply to: stuartnathan

Installation Help from Autodesk:
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/bd-p/24

Autodesk support is now on Twitter 24/5 (@autodeskcare): http://autode.sk/sbGrpx

Up & Ready Installation and Startup Help (free for new installs):
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=2786107&linkID=9240817

Safety Net / Per Incident Autodesk support (not free):
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=15892664&linkID=9240817

If you are on subscription, visit your Autodesk
Subscription Page for direct Autodesk Help:
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=2915212&linkID=9240817

Customer Error Reporting:
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=7047344&linkID=9240817

Different options that are available for self-help
technical support from Autodesk Product Support
E-Services:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ylj0o-R_Zn0

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Contributor
stuartnathan
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎02-17-2005
Message 10 of 12 (215 Views)

Re: Crash

02-01-2012 08:15 AM in reply to: pendean

And?

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.