AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
lbernacchi
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎10-06-2003
Message 1 of 7 (2,494 Views)
Accepted Solution

Copying Viewports

2494 Views, 6 Replies
06-02-2011 07:30 AM

In some drawings the viewports automatically display viewport objects when I copy them and some they do not. There must be a systems variable and I searched through the systems variable tool in the Express tools and couldn't find it. Does anyone know how to get consistent results when copying viewports.

Thanks!

Lisa

REGENAUTO > ON

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,386
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 7 (2,491 Views)

Re: Copying Viewports

06-02-2011 07:33 AM in reply to: lbernacchi

My experience has always been they stay on if you remain in the same DWG file, you have to turn them on if you go to other DWG files.

 

Is that not the same for you?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Contributor
lbernacchi
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎10-06-2003
Message 3 of 7 (2,489 Views)

Re: Copying Viewports

06-02-2011 07:41 AM in reply to: lbernacchi

Nope, that is why I'm asking. In previous releases they were always off. When we upgraded to 2010 I was so excited that they are on when you copy. I have one drawing where the viewports don't stay on. I don't want to rebuild this drawing just because of this issue.

*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,039
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 4 of 7 (2,467 Views)

Re: Copying Viewports

06-02-2011 09:34 AM in reply to: lbernacchi

If you mean copying them from one layot tab to another in the same file, they should retain their layer settings in newer versions of AutoCAD. If you're trying to copy from one file to another it won't work. In older versions, you can make the viewport a block and then copy it to another tab in the same file, and then explode it -- and it should retain its layer settings that way.

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
*Pro
nestly
Posts: 1,283
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
Message 5 of 7 (2,447 Views)

Re: Copying Viewports

06-02-2011 08:38 PM in reply to: lbernacchi

REGENAUTO > ON

Valued Contributor
lbernacchi
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎10-06-2003
Message 6 of 7 (2,433 Views)

Re: Copying Viewports

06-03-2011 04:41 AM in reply to: lbernacchi

THANK YOU!!! I knew it was a setting.

Active Member
NeilJ55
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-28-2012
Message 7 of 7 (2,205 Views)

Re: Copying Viewports

02-28-2012 08:45 AM in reply to: lbernacchi

thank you for the information about the Regenauto command

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.