AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
New Member
andy.locke
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-08-2010
Message 1 of 6 (777 Views)

CopyBlockDefAndAssign

777 Views, 5 Replies
05-24-2011 01:40 PM

I have lost this command.  I got a new PC with windows 7, reinstalled autocad and the service packs, and it is no longer there.  I used to be able to right-click a block and the shortcut menu would have a "Copy block definition and assign command"  This would turn that instance of a block an identical block with a new name.

 

This is a great command that I no longer have.  I have tried typing "copyblockdefandassign" as well to no avail.

 

PLease help me get it back.

*Pro
ampster
Posts: 1,280
Registered: ‎07-26-2005
Message 2 of 6 (772 Views)

Re: CopyBlockDefAndAssign

05-24-2011 01:45 PM in reply to: andy.locke

that command doesn't appear on my 2011 install...

 

is it possible this command was from some sort of add-on or lisp routine?

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,279
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 3 of 6 (771 Views)

Re: CopyBlockDefAndAssign

05-24-2011 01:45 PM in reply to: andy.locke

The pop up got shorter or just that command? Have you tried PICKFIRST = 1  ?

New Member
andy.locke
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-08-2010
Message 4 of 6 (764 Views)

Re: CopyBlockDefAndAssign

05-24-2011 01:58 PM in reply to: ampster

I swear it was there in 2011.  I saw the command a million times before I used it.  Now I am addicted.  And pickfirst is enabled.  

*Expert Elite*
3wood
Posts: 1,091
Registered: ‎03-25-2009
Message 5 of 6 (728 Views)

Re: CopyBlockDefAndAssign

05-25-2011 04:48 AM in reply to: andy.locke

It was an AEC command.

Is there any lsp routine can do the same thing?

*Expert Elite*
ToanDN
Posts: 1,893
Registered: ‎09-26-2006
Message 6 of 6 (714 Views)

Re: CopyBlockDefAndAssign

05-25-2011 12:17 PM in reply to: andy.locke

It's a command from AutoCAD Architecture and maybe some other verticals.  Are you sure you have the same AutoCAD version as before?

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.