AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,315
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 1 of 6 (36,418 Views)
Accepted Solution

Converting the lines to polylines,

36418 Views, 5 Replies
01-15-2012 09:45 AM

Converting the lines to polylines

 

 

I’m wondering if there is a command that can convert many lines to polylines at a time so that a “ Golbal width” can be given to them.

 

Why the “Match properties” command doesn’t convert lines to polyline when matching a polyline to a line?

 

Why there is no option in the “Properties” Pan to do that?

 

 

Thank you in advance,

 

Regards

 

Jamal

 

Clip_244.jpg

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.

Hi,

 

Command _PEDIT (>>>details<<<) can do that.

Check also at the beginning of the command the option for selecting/converting multiple objects + the PEDIT-option "JOIN" to conact lines/arcs/polylines that have endpoints fitting together.

 

- alfred -

Hi,

 

>> why it is not yet in the standard version of the AutoCAD

Because the PEDIT command is already able to do the same thing as the LISP (from 1999) does. The LISP was written in a time where the PEDIT command have not had the "_MULIPLE" option on the beginning.

 

Nowadays all that can be done with _PEDIT itself. .... and if you need one button for it, you can create one, that's why AutoCAD is as successful as it is. If there is something missing, you have muliple options to get that into the package because of it's extremly flexibility.

 

Anyway if it's working for you, you have your problem solved :smileywink:

 

- alfred -

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,070
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 6 (36,417 Views)

Re: Converting the lines to polylines,

01-15-2012 09:49 AM in reply to: JamaL9722060

Hi,

 

Command _PEDIT (>>>details<<<) can do that.

Check also at the beginning of the command the option for selecting/converting multiple objects + the PEDIT-option "JOIN" to conact lines/arcs/polylines that have endpoints fitting together.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,315
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 3 of 6 (36,414 Views)

Re: Converting the lines to polylines,

01-15-2012 11:09 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Many thanks Alfred.

 

the "Pedit" command is time consuming! many clicks for one single issue!

 

why this command doesn't start with "Multiple"?

 

it reminds me when the "copy" command was defualted to be single not multiple!

 

 

regards

 

Jamal

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,070
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 6 (36,409 Views)

Re: Converting the lines to polylines,

01-15-2012 11:20 AM in reply to: JamaL9722060

Hi,

 

>> the "Pedit" command is time consuming! many clicks for one single issue!

That was the reason why I mentioned in my previous post:

>> Check also at the beginning of the command the option for selecting/converting multiple objects

 

Check this command-line snapshot as sample for you, it does convert all what is convertable to Polyline (in the current space):

Command: _pedit
Select polyline or [Multiple]: _multiple
Select objects: _all
204 found
2 were not in current space.
Select objects:
Convert Lines, Arcs and Splines to polylines [Yes/No]? <Y> _yes
....

 

 

HTH, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mentor
JamaL9722060
Posts: 1,315
Registered: ‎04-09-2010
Message 5 of 6 (36,407 Views)

Re: Converting the lines to polylines,

01-15-2012 11:47 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

thank you alfred for your prompt answer.

 

A collleague sent me a command (attached) that can do this kind of work easily! l like it...it is exactly what i'm looking for. I'm wondering why it is not yet in the standard version of the AutoCAD.

 

I just added it to the 'Express" folder and then "load application".

 

what do you think?

 

regards

 

Jamal

 

Clip_246.jpg

----------------------------------------------------------
Jamal NUMAN, GIS and Civil Engineer, MSc
e-mail: JamaL9722060@yahoo.com
P.O.Box: 731, Ramallah, West Bank, Palestine.
----------------------------------------------------------
Software: AutoCAD 2014, AutoCAD C3D, AutoCAD M3D, Revit
Windows 7 (Ultimate 64 bits),
Firefox 20.0,
Kaspersky 2013.
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,070
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 6 of 6 (36,403 Views)

Re: Converting the lines to polylines,

01-15-2012 11:59 AM in reply to: JamaL9722060

Hi,

 

>> why it is not yet in the standard version of the AutoCAD

Because the PEDIT command is already able to do the same thing as the LISP (from 1999) does. The LISP was written in a time where the PEDIT command have not had the "_MULIPLE" option on the beginning.

 

Nowadays all that can be done with _PEDIT itself. .... and if you need one button for it, you can create one, that's why AutoCAD is as successful as it is. If there is something missing, you have muliple options to get that into the package because of it's extremly flexibility.

 

Anyway if it's working for you, you have your problem solved :smileywink:

 

- alfred -

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.