AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
New Member
dmcymek
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-16-2011
Message 1 of 7 (7,574 Views)

Convert .RFA file to .DWG to use in AutoCAD without Revit

7574 Views, 6 Replies
03-16-2011 06:59 AM

Does AutoCAD 2011 have the capability to open/save/convert a Revit file (.RFA) to be used in AutoCAD without using Revit?  I draw with AutoCAD and would like to utilize the companies on the internet that are issuing their HVAC equipment in Revit files; however, I do not want to purchase Revit just for this application.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,617
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 7 (7,573 Views)

Re: Convert .RFA file to .DWG to use in AutoCAD without Revit

03-16-2011 07:04 AM in reply to: dmcymek

No, you need REVIT.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Member
bhabdi
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-08-2011
Message 3 of 7 (5,962 Views)

Re: Convert .RFA file to .DWG to use in AutoCAD without Revit

03-25-2012 02:45 AM in reply to: dmcymek

Unfortunately I have the same problem, I Only have AutoCad MEP 2011 and I want to use HVAC equipmens rvt and rfa files in manufacturer websites. But I can not convert them,

Hope it was a way.

New Member
aneeshhaneefa
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-20-2013
Message 4 of 7 (4,791 Views)

Re: Convert .RFA file to .DWG to use in AutoCAD without Revit

03-20-2013 10:56 PM in reply to: dmcymek
Member
RealRqtect
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-30-2008
Message 5 of 7 (2,334 Views)

Re: Convert .RFA file to .DWG to use in AutoCAD without Revit

05-28-2014 01:26 PM in reply to: dmcymek

Autodesk sucks hard

Valued Mentor
justshutup
Posts: 260
Registered: ‎10-03-2013
Message 6 of 7 (2,308 Views)

Re: Convert .RFA file to .DWG to use in AutoCAD without Revit

05-29-2014 03:46 PM in reply to: RealRqtect

RealRqtect wrote:

Autodesk sucks hard


I bet you're the type that complains that you can't get orange juice out of an apple.  You are demonstrating your ignorance of the topic with comments like that.  

neb
New Member
neb
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-28-2014
Message 7 of 7 (1,356 Views)

Re: Convert .RFA file to .DWG to use in AutoCAD without Revit

08-28-2014 07:12 PM in reply to: justshutup

To a certain degree I will have to agree with RealRqtect.

It is over 20 years now since AutoCAD became a standard and Revit, being a part of the same family should give us the ability to convert their RFA files to DWG. It is not in any way like hoping to get an orange juice out of apples... Let's not forget that we are trying to help each other and not judge each other.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.