AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Member
coyle-chad
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-29-2011
Message 1 of 10 (124 Views)

Constant loading with AutoCad 2012

124 Views, 9 Replies
04-30-2012 08:14 AM

My Autocad opens up fine and usually runs smooth, but in some instances after i have my project loaded up and run a few commands the program loads constantly. ( i run a coulple of commands and then have to wait for the program to load for 5 minutes). Its really becoming a problem and any information would be helpful. How can i stop this? any information would be helpful.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,407
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 10 (120 Views)

Re: Constant loading with AutoCad 2012

04-30-2012 08:21 AM in reply to: coyle-chad

Hi,

 

what process uses at least one kernel of your cpu in that time-frame? Is it ACAD.EXE or is it WSCOMMCNT***?

If it's the WSCOMM-thing, kill it and look if AutoCAD continues to work immediatly.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Member
coyle-chad
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-29-2011
Message 3 of 10 (117 Views)

Re: Constant loading with AutoCad 2012

04-30-2012 08:32 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

the acad.exe is using it all

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,407
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 10 (115 Views)

Re: Constant loading with AutoCad 2012

04-30-2012 08:35 AM in reply to: coyle-chad

Hi,

 

ok, next questions: :smileywink:

  • Does this happen on specific drawings? Or will you have to wait also when starting with new templates?
  • Have you trie`d to run AutoCAD with a different profile? If you don't have one then login to your pc with another user account and try to run AutoCAD in this environment.
  • Have you installed any applications or tools?
  • And maybe also interesting: you have installed the latest servicepacks?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Member
coyle-chad
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-29-2011
Message 5 of 10 (114 Views)

Re: Constant loading with AutoCad 2012

04-30-2012 08:37 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

it only happens on specific drawings. I have pennacle serier installed. no other profiles on this machine. Havent updated the service packs

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,407
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 6 of 10 (108 Views)

Re: Constant loading with AutoCad 2012

04-30-2012 08:43 AM in reply to: coyle-chad

Hi,

 

>> Havent updated the service packs

That would be my first step (to install then, look >>>here<<<), but IMPORTANT: as I don't know anything about the Pinnacle stuff, please check first with your admin or your dealer if the installation of the servicepack is ok for the application!

 

>> it only happens on specific drawings

Do you see what makes these drawings unique compared to the drawings that don't show up this issue?

E.g. only drawings that were controlled with Pinnacle or only drawings containing XRefs or only drawings stored on network, .... every information may bring you a step forward!

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Member
coyle-chad
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-29-2011
Message 7 of 10 (105 Views)

Re: Constant loading with AutoCad 2012

04-30-2012 08:48 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

The only thing that may make these drawings unique is that they have been saved up from an earlier version. But i do that all the time and dont have these problems. Ive taken all th xrefs out of the drawing and am still having the same problem. The drawings arent even big. Just small details for some road plans. Ill run the service packs and see if that helps any.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,407
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 8 of 10 (103 Views)

Re: Constant loading with AutoCad 2012

04-30-2012 08:53 AM in reply to: coyle-chad

Hi,

 

if you delete all geometry except of a few lines/polylines and all layouts, then save and reopen the drawing .... also slow? If so upload exactly this drawing so we can look into it.

 

I would check with commands

  • _PURGE to get unused definitions (block-definitions, layer, styles, ...) out of the drawing
  • _-PURGE to look what application-items were active in your drawing (and maybe have some data in it)
  • _-SCALELIST and _RESET to clean annotationscales that are not used
  • _WBLOCK to create a new drawing with the existing content, but new structured
  • ....

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Member
coyle-chad
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-29-2011
Message 9 of 10 (100 Views)

Re: Constant loading with AutoCad 2012

04-30-2012 09:29 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

OK! The problem seems to be fixed now. I did a "control+a" and blocked the drawing into one of my template drawings and saved it over to the origional drawing. Havent had the problem for about 15 minutes now.

 

Thank you for stearing me in the right direction!

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,407
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 10 of 10 (96 Views)

Re: Constant loading with AutoCad 2012

04-30-2012 09:37 AM in reply to: coyle-chad

You are welcome!

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!