AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Contributor
oamaya
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎11-10-2008
Message 1 of 18 (42,256 Views)
Accepted Solution

changing block names

42256 Views, 17 Replies
03-23-2011 09:00 AM

Is it possible to edit a block name?  The alternate solution is to create a new block (door) to accurate describe sizing/ type and copy to and delete old blocks w/ innacurate names.  Because of the high number of doors, the alternate solution would take much longer.  Thanks.:smileyhappy:

 

 

REN

*Pro
Modman_4
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 2 of 18 (42,253 Views)

Re: changing block names

03-23-2011 09:29 AM in reply to: oamaya

REN

I hope my info was useful, but if by some odd chance it actually solved your issue, feel free to mark your post as "Accept as Solution". Thanks! :smileyhappy:
Contributor
oamaya
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎11-10-2008
Message 3 of 18 (42,250 Views)

Re: changing block names

03-23-2011 09:45 AM in reply to: Modman_4

I didn't receive any info...

Mentor
Johneng
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎02-04-2009
Message 4 of 18 (42,245 Views)

Re: changing block names

03-23-2011 09:50 AM in reply to: oamaya

REN is the keyboard shortcut for the RENAME command.

Contributor
oamaya
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎11-10-2008
Message 5 of 18 (42,242 Views)

Re: changing block names

03-23-2011 09:53 AM in reply to: oamaya

Got it. That did it.  Thank you much!

Contributor
igi_pop
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 6 of 18 (41,866 Views)

Re: changing block names

11-03-2011 02:49 AM in reply to: Modman_4

Modman_4 wrote:

REN


big up man! i've been workin in CAD and Civil for ages now and that little thingie bugged me VERY MUCH :smileyhappy:

Custom build
Phenom 9950BE quad
windows 7 x64
8GB RAM
Radeon 4800 512MB
New Member
mstun
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-03-2012
Message 7 of 18 (37,257 Views)

Re: changing block names

11-11-2012 05:52 PM in reply to: Johneng

when i typed "ren"

 

Command: ren
RENAME
** RENAME command not allowed in block editor. **"

any cmt that i can edit on block name please :robothappy:

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,598
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 8 of 18 (37,252 Views)

Re: changing block names

11-11-2012 10:15 PM in reply to: mstun

Hi,

 

>> any cmt that i can edit on block name please

why is it necessary to change any blockname within the blockeditor?

If you want to save your currently opened blockdefinition (currently open within the blockeditor) than you can't rename it, but you can use _BSAVEAS to save this definition with a new name.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
New Member
jonli011
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-27-2012
Message 9 of 18 (36,706 Views)

Re: changing block names

11-27-2012 06:35 AM in reply to: oamaya

You cant rename blocks when you're in the blockeditor.

So close it and try again

New Member
cbingaman110
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-25-2012
Message 10 of 18 (36,542 Views)

Re: changing block names

11-30-2012 11:51 AM in reply to: oamaya

Hello,

 

I have a similar issue.

I am trying to change the color of a 3D Semi Truck which in itself contains 12 blocks that make up the Semi.

 

I need to change the name of "CHASSIS" becuase when i edit the Semi Block, and insert it into my main drawing, the changed color of the "CHASSIS" and all the other 11 blocks, it gives the "duplicate block definition ignored" because i have the original Semi with the original color in the same drawing. I need 2 different colors.

 

So, if I can change the name of the "sub" blocks of the semi, It will not give the duplicate error and will show as a different color.

 

If anyone has had this issue, Id appreciate some advise.

 

 

Thanks

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.