AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
rbt1053
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 1 of 7 (3,841 Views)

change startup page template

3841 Views, 6 Replies
07-16-2011 05:07 PM

Is this do-able?

 

I would like to have Acad open to a template file of mine instead of the generic default one. I've looked into STARTUP and it's values, QNEW, and the Options>Files>Drawing Templates.

 

What I'm looking for is a setting which allows me to have my template sheet open on startup but still have QNEW open up the Select a Template dialog box. In other words, is there a way to substitute my template for the generic one while still having the  QNEW  button open the dialog box?

 

I guess Im looking for something between STARTUP 0 and QNEW.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,722
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 7 (3,834 Views)

Re: change startup page template

07-16-2011 08:24 PM in reply to: rbt1053

Just have your startup sortcut open your template file: two ways to do it:

1. Old-School, create a shortcut in WIndows Explorer of royur template file and double-click on it when you need to start with a template.

2. Edit the 'normal' AutoCAD shortcut to start with your template: read THIS PAGE

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Contributor
rbt1053
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 3 of 7 (3,810 Views)

Re: change startup page template

07-17-2011 12:48 PM in reply to: pendean

This what I ended up doing. First tried the #2 solution but couldn't get it working. Then tried the obvious which worked:

 

The default opening page at startup is based on the acad.dwt template  in the Templates folder. I simply renamed my template which I wanted to use as the default start page to acad.dwt and it worked like a charm. Almost too easy.

*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 2,092
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 7 (3,805 Views)

Re: change startup page template

07-17-2011 01:42 PM in reply to: rbt1053

rbt1053 wrote:

This what I ended up doing. First tried the #2 solution but couldn't get it working. Then tried the obvious which worked:

 

The default opening page at startup is based on the acad.dwt template  in the Templates folder. I simply renamed my template which I wanted to use as the default start page to acad.dwt and it worked like a charm. Almost too easy.


Just make sure you create a backup copy of "your" acad.dwt so when you install an update or repair/reinstall you can repeat the procedure

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Valued Contributor
rbt1053
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 5 of 7 (3,801 Views)

Re: change startup page template

07-17-2011 02:31 PM in reply to: Murph

Thank you all for your help. 

Contributor
sandhup
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎03-29-2007
Message 6 of 7 (3,086 Views)

Re: change startup page template

09-12-2012 08:07 AM in reply to: rbt1053

rbt1053 wrote:

This what I ended up doing. First tried the #2 solution but couldn't get it working. Then tried the obvious which worked:

 

The default opening page at startup is based on the acad.dwt template  in the Templates folder. I simply renamed my template which I wanted to use as the default start page to acad.dwt and it worked like a charm. Almost too easy.


Thanks for this, was tearing my hair out looking for a way so that drawing1.dwg would open in metric on start up. Many thanks.:smileyvery-happy:

 

Contributor
Norrisc761
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-24-2012
Message 7 of 7 (3,073 Views)

Re: change startup page template

09-13-2012 06:06 AM in reply to: sandhup

Can't you just change the Template Settings in the Files tab of the Options dialog box?

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.