AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
pmarx
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎03-15-2004
Message 1 of 10 (617 Views)
Accepted Solution

Can't reassign F1 key to Cancel

617 Views, 9 Replies
01-26-2014 07:46 AM

Not sure what I'm doing wrong. I open CUI, drag cancel up into the shortcut keys, but when I go to "access" in the properties window and press the F1 key, I get a message that it's already assigned and the entry defaults to SHIFT F1. Which is, of course useless for the reason I want to reassign the key. This is for AutoCAD 2012. I'm grateful for any help.

Cap locks. Hmmm. Thanks, I'll try that.

Distinguished Mentor
steve216586
Posts: 954
Registered: ‎07-10-2007
Message 2 of 10 (587 Views)

Re: Can't reassign F1 key to Cancel

01-27-2014 06:16 AM in reply to: pmarx

AFAIK the F1 key is the only one you cannot redefine. It is meant for HELP and Autodesk keeps it that way internally. Esc is really close to F1 anyway???

Valued Mentor
sthompson1021
Posts: 491
Registered: ‎03-02-2010
Message 3 of 10 (581 Views)

Re: Can't reassign F1 key to Cancel

01-27-2014 06:29 AM in reply to: pmarx

Hi, when you go to access you have to click on Keys and then click on the 3 dots to get another window where you can type F1

Valued Contributor
pmarx
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎03-15-2004
Message 4 of 10 (575 Views)

Re: Can't reassign F1 key to Cancel

01-27-2014 06:38 AM in reply to: sthompson1021

Thank you for replying.

 

sthompson1021, I am doing exactly that but it's when I press F1, the assignment defaults to SHIFT F1. Which is as useful as mammary glands on a bull for my purpose.

 

steve216586, with all due respect, the F1 key can be reassigned. Lynn Allen has told us so for years. I have done it before. As a matter of fact, I just did it on someone else's computer (for which they were very grateful.) I just can't do it for mine.

 

http://lynn.blogs.com/lynn_allens_blog/2005/10/the_best_autoca.html

Distinguished Mentor
steve216586
Posts: 954
Registered: ‎07-10-2007
Message 5 of 10 (564 Views)

Re: Can't reassign F1 key to Cancel

01-27-2014 06:49 AM in reply to: pmarx

Thanks for the update. I have seen many threads in the past trying to do this with no success. I have heard it done through ACCELERATORS in the old .mnr file but that doesn't exist any more. That is the only reason for my response and the "AFAIK". I just changed mine. Good tip!  ;-)

Valued Mentor
sthompson1021
Posts: 491
Registered: ‎03-02-2010
Message 6 of 10 (559 Views)

Re: Can't reassign F1 key to Cancel

01-27-2014 07:13 AM in reply to: pmarx

Not sure why it's not working for you, thats the same tip I've used since r2008 and it works on 2014 too. Does your company have an enterprise CUI that you can't change and your working in a custum CUI? Not sure if that would make a differance or not.

Valued Contributor
pmarx
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎03-15-2004
Message 7 of 10 (555 Views)

Re: Can't reassign F1 key to Cancel

01-27-2014 07:24 AM in reply to: sthompson1021

I'm not sure about that but I tend to doubt it. I have been able to do this before. I'm perfectly willing to concede that I did something wrong but I have no idea what. I may leave word for the IT person to see if they can get to the bottom of this. Again thank you all for responding.

*Expert Elite*
GrantsPirate
Posts: 1,632
Registered: ‎08-15-2008
Message 8 of 10 (549 Views)

Re: Can't reassign F1 key to Cancel

01-27-2014 07:37 AM in reply to: pmarx
F1 is re-definable, I have mine set for endpoint. When you hit F1 make sure the caps lock is off. The program may tell you it is already assigned but just accept and close the CUI.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
If something I wrote can be interpreted two ways, and one of the ways makes you sad or angry, I meant the other one.
Valued Contributor
pmarx
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎03-15-2004
Message 9 of 10 (542 Views)

Re: Can't reassign F1 key to Cancel

01-27-2014 08:12 AM in reply to: GrantsPirate

Cap locks. Hmmm. Thanks, I'll try that.

Valued Contributor
pmarx
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎03-15-2004
Message 10 of 10 (524 Views)

Re: Can't reassign F1 key to Cancel

01-28-2014 05:19 AM in reply to: pmarx

Thanks GP. I can't say for sure that had had Caps Lock on the first time but I made sure it was off when I tried this operation again and it worked as expected. Thanks again!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.