AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Member
sonkham
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-30-2009
Message 1 of 28 (13,443 Views)

Can't double click the text box for editing

13443 Views, 27 Replies
12-30-2009 01:35 PM
I currently have a bug, I can't double-click on the text box for editing text and when I click on a line I can't change propretie of the line by changing on toolbar.

Do I have to reinstall Autocad?
*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,325
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 28 (13,442 Views)

Re: Can't double click the text box for editing

12-30-2009 01:41 PM in reply to: sonkham
pickfirst=1
*Brad
Message 3 of 28 (13,442 Views)

Re: Can't double click the text box for editing

12-30-2009 01:47 PM in reply to: sonkham
... and the question is, "Why doesn't Autodesk put this at the top of the
discussion group list?" While they are at it, "Visretain = 1" and "Don't
use student version if you are not a student doing educational work."

Brad
C3D 2010 on Vista Business 64 SP 2
LT 2010 on XP Pro SP 3

wrote in message news:6310765@discussion.autodesk.com...
pickfirst=1
*Dean Saadallah
Message 4 of 28 (13,442 Views)

Re: Can't double click the text box for editing

12-30-2009 01:53 PM in reply to: sonkham
And how many do any research before posting in this fantasy land of yours?
LOL

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
*Brad
Message 5 of 28 (13,442 Views)

Re: Can't double click the text box for editing

12-30-2009 02:03 PM in reply to: sonkham
Sorry, at the top of the web page that has the list of discussion groups
(Forums).

http://discussion.autodesk.com/forums/


Brad
C3D 2010 on Vista Business 64 SP 2
LT 2010 on XP Pro SP 3

"Dean Saadallah" wrote in message
news:6310771@discussion.autodesk.com...
And how many do any research before posting in this fantasy land of yours?
LOL

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
*Dean Saadallah
Message 6 of 28 (13,442 Views)

Re: Can't double click the text box for editing

12-30-2009 02:12 PM in reply to: sonkham
Exactly, pointless. Look at the OP's header, compare it to the dozen other
headers with the PICKFIRST problem. I'm not calling the OP any names, but
when you are focused on double-clicking text the notion of clicking on
anything else is the fix may not be obvious.

The better fix is for HELP to have the following sentence everywhere and not
just buried on one silly page that has almost nothing to do with the advise
it is found on:

Note: The DBLCLKEDIT system variable must be on and the PICKFIRST system
variable must be on (set to 1, the default) for double-clicking to work.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,325
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 7 of 28 (13,442 Views)

Re: Can't double click the text box for editing

12-30-2009 02:17 PM in reply to: sonkham
Human brain still process these questions better than F1 help so people still ask same questions. I don't mind, repeating helps the brain.
Member
sonkham
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-30-2009
Message 8 of 28 (13,442 Views)

Re: Can't double click the text box for editing

01-04-2010 07:24 AM in reply to: sonkham
well sorry guys...I've tried with help and some of my fellow CAD user and the response was..."don't know". Thanks a lot for "fixing" my problem and next time I want to post a message I'll thoroughly do my research before!

sorry again and thanx again!

Happy new year!

Sonkham
Contributor
bsmith17
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-06-2006
Message 9 of 28 (13,403 Views)

Re: Can't double click the text box for editing

07-08-2010 01:51 PM in reply to: sonkham

I just started having this problem right in the middle of editiing 2 lines of text.

 

Pickfirst=0

dblclkedit=ON

 

I can double click on the text, and the box comes up to edit the text, but as soon as I type anything, I get:

 

** Undefined shape 69

** Undefined shape 80

** Undefined shape 76

** Undefined shape 65

** Undefined shape 49

** Undefined shape 49

** Undefined shape 84

** Undefined shape 69

** Undefined shape 80

** Undefined shape 76

** Undefined shape 65

** Undefined shape 49

** Undefined shape 49

** Undefined shape 84

** Undefined shape 69

etc.....

 

 

Sometimes it will allow me to place one letter before doing the undefined shape deal, others it will not.

This seems to be affecting one particular drawing.

 

Thanks

 

Any ideas?

Contributor
bsmith17
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-06-2006
Message 10 of 28 (13,402 Views)

Re: Can't double click the text box for editing

07-08-2010 01:54 PM in reply to: bsmith17

If I select the edit text button, it works.

If I type textedit in the command line, it works.

 

This is really going to slow me down if I can't get this figured out. :ack:

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.