AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
albionpjl
Posts: 900
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 11 of 14 (301 Views)

Re: Bug: "Window" Menu stops working

08-14-2009 08:00 AM in reply to: johfahn
Other than turning the ribbon off and going back to menus, no, sorry.

Since I did that, I have had no further trouble with Window freezing up.

It didn't fix 3dorbit freezing, but that's another issue.
Distinguished Contributor
Light_Guy
Posts: 217
Registered: ‎09-24-2007
Message 12 of 14 (267 Views)

Re: Bug: "Window" Menu stops working

12-15-2010 11:14 AM in reply to: johfahn

We are running 2010 on Windows XP and I am seeing an increase of this problem on a daily basis. I played with it yesterday a bit and found that by adding the Select Windows tool from the View-Windows panel on the Ribbon to the Quick Access Toolbar seemed to be a great work around and in so doing actually caused the Window Menu to become functional again. I have put it on 4 different machines so far and it seems to be doing the trick. Additionally, it helps the users get used to the ribbon and QAT and away from the menus and toolbars.

Paul Hamor
"Always good ships!"
Distinguished Contributor
bruceclement
Posts: 182
Registered: ‎11-24-2003
Message 13 of 14 (144 Views)

Re: Bug: "Window" Menu stops working

10-10-2011 10:28 AM in reply to: Light_Guy

Old thread, but...

 

I have several users who are experiencing this issue.  We have reinstalled AutoCAD 2010, installed the latest SP, deleted user registry keys and so on, to no avail.

 

Any known fix (not workaround)?

 

Thanks.

New Member
bill
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-03-2009
Message 14 of 14 (102 Views)

Re: Bug: "Window" Menu stops working

11-30-2012 01:04 PM in reply to: bruceclement

I have a workaround

if I switch to a different workspace and back again the problem goes away.  At least it's quicker than restarting ACAD.  I use workspace switching in the bar (lower right) it's pretty quick.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.