AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Member
pulliamm
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-01-2010
Message 1 of 4 (195 Views)
Accepted Solution

Automatic surface selection

195 Views, 3 Replies
01-02-2012 07:30 AM

When I try to select a point on a 3D solid, the first surface I encounter is automatically selected and I can then only select points on that surface.

What is this feature called, and how do I turn it off?

(It makes it difficult to get to exactly what I want, especially when the model is complex.)

 

Thank you!

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,240
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 4 (125 Views)

Re: Automatic surface selection

01-03-2012 09:08 AM in reply to: pulliamm

DUCS or F6 key

Product Support
jason.drew
Posts: 323
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Message 3 of 4 (110 Views)

Re: Automatic surface selection

01-03-2012 11:00 AM in reply to: pulliamm

You might try adjusting the grip functions as well:

 

http://exchange.autodesk.com/autocad/enu/online-help/browse#WS1a9193826455f5fff715e63122ec92cca0-7f6...

 

Thank you,



Jason Drew
Premium Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.





If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly.
Member
pulliamm
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-01-2010
Message 4 of 4 (106 Views)

Re: Automatic surface selection

01-03-2012 11:13 AM in reply to: pulliamm

Thanks guys, the F6 worked!

 

So much nicer having that "helpful" feature disabled.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.