AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
New Member
Jude27
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-15-2013
Message 1 of 4 (13,859 Views)

Autocad on surface pro

13859 Views, 3 Replies
06-15-2013 12:38 AM
Hi everyone. Just wondering if anybody uses autocad on their surface pro? Is it reasonable at everything? Does it seem slower than it should be? And would it be better to choose a laptop for the same price over the surface? Thanks guys,
Valued Mentor
TerryDotson
Posts: 489
Registered: ‎06-06-2010
Message 2 of 4 (13,844 Views)

Re: Autocad on surface pro

06-15-2013 11:09 AM in reply to: Jude27

One consideration is that the Surface Pro is Windows 8 and only AutoCAD 2014 is certified to be compatible.  Running any previous version may present problems (display, fonts, open file dialog, etc)..

 

I run 2014 on a Surface Pro 128 and it works well.  If you don't plan on detaching the keyboard and using the Surface like a tablet, you are just as well off with a laptop (running Windows 7) for your situation.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,933
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 3 of 4 (13,756 Views)

Re: Autocad on surface pro

06-18-2013 06:16 AM in reply to: Jude27
There are quite a few blogs on the topic of touchscreens and AutoCAD if that's what you are really going after explore it here http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/The-Break-Room-Non-Technical/Touch-Screen-Interface/m-p/3927749/highli...
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Contributor
drspringer
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎06-09-2009
Message 4 of 4 (1,394 Views)

Re: Autocad on surface pro

08-30-2014 04:06 PM in reply to: TerryDotson

Terry,

How did you get it to run on the Surface. I just installed it on a Surface pro 3 and when I try to run it I get "This application was unable to start correctly"

 

I'm considering purchasing a Surface but only if I can get it to run Inventor for on the road stuff.

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.