AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
autodesk_inventor_user
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎04-27-2011
Message 1 of 3 (626 Views)

Autocad file into CNC - spline problem

626 Views, 2 Replies
08-19-2011 03:35 PM

I saved Inventor file as .dwg in order to make CNC. I need to rout out a wavy reveal in a panel.

The line on my .dwg file is a spline with thousands of vertexes, using it as a path for the machine wont work, it will take forever to run it since it stops with every vertex.

What would be the best approach to eliminate the problem?

Convert the line to what?

 

*Expert Elite*
azrdgldr
Posts: 1,250
Registered: ‎01-09-2007
Message 2 of 3 (613 Views)

Re: Autocad file into CNC - spline problem

08-19-2011 05:49 PM in reply to: autodesk_inventor_user

If you read thru a lot of these forums, there are always problems with spline usage.  I don't use splines and I highly recommend that splines be avoided at all costs.

Active Contributor
GOLEN
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎05-24-2011
Message 3 of 3 (555 Views)

Re: Autocad file into CNC - spline problem

08-22-2011 12:06 PM in reply to: autodesk_inventor_user

I too use autocad for cnc production and have run into this problem. In express tools there is a tool called flatten. This will take a spline and turn it into arcs or lines. The number of which can be controlled but too many will bloat your program, too few may not give you the result you want.

______________________________________________________________
AutoCAD 2012
Dell Precision T7400, Intel Xeon @3.4GHz
Win XP 32bit 4GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro FX 3700
Cyborg R.A.T. 7 mouse
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.