AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
greglong
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-03-2010
Message 1 of 11 (7,866 Views)

Autocad Classic

7866 Views, 10 Replies
05-19-2010 07:37 AM
I just install Autocad 2011 on a laptop. How do I change it to Autocad classic with toolbars similiar to my old 2007 version?
Member
darth_henry
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-08-2008
Message 2 of 11 (7,866 Views)

Re: Autocad Classic

05-19-2010 09:05 AM in reply to: greglong
Look for the cogged wheel on the bottom right of the screen when you have a drawing open and switch to classic view.

Hope that helps
Active Member
greglong
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-03-2010
Message 3 of 11 (7,866 Views)

Re: Autocad Classic

05-20-2010 06:28 AM in reply to: greglong
I followed your instructions. When I click on the sprocket the only option that comes up and is checked is "Architecture"
*Murph
Message 4 of 11 (7,866 Views)

Re: Autocad Classic

05-20-2010 06:40 AM in reply to: greglong
That's because you are using ACA (AutoCAD Architectural) not AutoCAD
Vanilla. You need to ask in the forum for that.
http://discussion.autodesk.com/forums/forum.jspa?forumID=248

--

Murph
http://map3d.wordpress.com/


"greglong" wrote in message news:6394416@discussion.autodesk.com...
I followed your instructions. When I click on the sprocket the only option
that comes up and is checked is "Architecture"
*Joel
Message 5 of 11 (7,866 Views)

Re: Autocad Classic

05-20-2010 06:54 AM in reply to: greglong
So, you are actually running AutoCAD Architecture 2011, and not regular
AutoCAD 2011?

This forum is for vanilla Acad which is why you got the answer you did.

In ACA, there is no other workspace option. You're forced to use only the
ribbon. The ACA.CUI has no toolbars/pulldowns or other workspaces defined
in it.

If you loaded ACA with the option to install a shortcut for the "Run as
AutoCAD" profile, then you will get the plain AutoCAD look with the ACAD.CUI
loaded (but still with the ribbon on by default). There, you will see the
other workspace options, including "AutoCAD Classic".

Unless you know how to transfer all the toolbars and pulldowns from an ACA
2009 installation which was the last version to still use pulldowns and
toolbars. Look into the "Autocad Architecture" forum. If you are using a
newsreader, the forum group title may be misleading since it's called
"autodesk.autocad-architecture.2008", but it covers all versions since 2008
including the 2011 version.
*Dean Saadallah
Message 6 of 11 (7,866 Views)

Re: Autocad Classic

05-21-2010 05:12 AM in reply to: greglong
As noted by others, it's Ribbon only in AutoCAD Architecture no matter how
you "run it".

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
Alumni bud
Alumni
bud
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 11 (7,866 Views)

Re: Autocad Classic

05-22-2010 12:41 PM in reply to: greglong
Hi Guys,

Just wanted to add that the AutoCAD ACAD.CUIx is installed as part of ACA. You can run it in an AutoCAD mode, and then you get the AutoCAD menu.

Hope this helps and thanks for posting the the Discussion Groups.

Bud Schroeder
AutoCAD Test Development
Autodesk Inc.


Bud Schroeder
Senior Test Engineer
AutoCAD Test Development
Autodesk, Inc.

*Joel
Message 8 of 11 (7,866 Views)

Re: Autocad Classic

05-24-2010 06:17 AM in reply to: greglong
Yes, but then you don't get the ACA stuff.
New Member
rojenapril24
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-04-2010
Message 9 of 11 (6,873 Views)

Re: Autocad Classic

11-04-2010 01:27 AM in reply to: greglong

i just installed autocad 2010 on my laptop. How do i change it autocad classic with toolbars similar to my old version 2007. i had switched to cogged wheel on the bottom right of the screen.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,476
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 10 of 11 (6,853 Views)

Re: Autocad Classic

11-04-2010 05:31 AM in reply to: rojenapril24

type WORKSPACE>Set Current>AutoCAD Classic

or

WORKSPACE>?>to see what is available.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.