AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Member
Griffjag
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-16-2011
Message 1 of 8 (249 Views)

AUTOCAD 2012

249 Views, 7 Replies
12-12-2011 06:25 AM

I guees I am noob because I cannot seam to do the easy stuff in the new autocad.  I need to be able to take a round take-off from a standard square duct but the stupid thing will not let me is there a way to to make it do that.  As an HVAC design engineer I need to be able to all differant type of take-offs.  And I am about ready to rip 2012 out of my machine and go back to 2009 where at least the thing worked and did what I told it instead of trying to think for me.  It now takes me twice as long to draw a simple duct work system as before. 

 

If there is a tutorial video or some training I would be open to that, But right now I cannot do my JOB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,840
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 8 (247 Views)

Re: AUTOCAD 2012

12-12-2011 06:36 AM in reply to: Griffjag

2D or 3D?

I don't know why it would be any different than 2009 other than Ribbon interface.

Can you attach 2009 example and the 2012 file?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
Griffjag
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-16-2011
Message 3 of 8 (230 Views)

Re: AUTOCAD 2012

12-12-2011 07:20 AM in reply to: JDMather

its not on my ribbon and being 2012 I cannot find it

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,261
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 4 of 8 (227 Views)

Re: AUTOCAD 2012

12-12-2011 07:25 AM in reply to: Griffjag

Can't find it because 2009 Mechanical and 2012 Vanilla Autocad.

 

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,840
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 5 of 8 (201 Views)

Re: AUTOCAD 2012

12-12-2011 09:20 AM in reply to: Griffjag

Griffjag wrote:

its not on my ribbon and being 2012 I cannot find it



What isn't?  Be specific.

Why didn't you answer previous question, 2D or 3D?

And now, new question - Mechanical 2009 or vanilla, Mechanical 2012 or vanilla?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
Griffjag
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-16-2011
Message 6 of 8 (191 Views)

Re: AUTOCAD 2012

12-12-2011 09:30 AM in reply to: JDMather

I use the 2d and the 3d version of autocad MEP Proffessional 2012 I drawing in 2d but check the 3d alot to make sure it is missing everything within the structure that I need to miss.  So I use it all.  That why i did no bother to answer the 2d/ 3d. 

 

The only thing i see on the ribbon is duct and duct fitting.  neither of which allows me to pull off a bellmouth take-off directly from the ductwork as I could in 2009.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,840
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 7 of 8 (186 Views)

Re: AUTOCAD 2012

12-12-2011 09:43 AM in reply to: Griffjag

Ahh, now I understand - you are in the wrong forum.

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-MEP/bd-p/61

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
Griffjag
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-16-2011
Message 8 of 8 (180 Views)

Re: AUTOCAD 2012

12-12-2011 10:10 AM in reply to: JDMather

Reposted in the other forum.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.