AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Contributor
johnsnow
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎07-01-2005
Message 1 of 6 (314 Views)

Autocad 2012 vs 2006 (slower?)

314 Views, 5 Replies
12-08-2011 10:28 AM

We finally got the funding to upgrade to Acad 2012 from 2006.  While I understand that my computer is at the lower end of the minimum system requirements, I find that Acad 2012 is quite a bit slower than 2006.  Has anyone else found this to be true?

 

Dell Dimension XPS 400

2 gb ram

Win XP Media Center Edition

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,325
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 6 (311 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 vs 2006 (slower?)

12-08-2011 10:33 AM in reply to: johnsnow

2GB = 2 ponnies pulling a wagon full of lead

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,597
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 3 of 6 (305 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 vs 2006 (slower?)

12-08-2011 10:45 AM in reply to: johnsnow

Hi,

 

>> I find that Acad 2012 is quite a bit slower than 2006

You are right in one point, 2006 needs less system resources than 2012 needs. E.g. loading of AutoCAD is much more "expensive" as the current GUI needs more time to get initialized, it needs more power of the graphics card. Also 2012 needs more memory and and and .... BUT: try to load a 50MB drawing, try to display 3D-objects on the screen in different visual styles and orbit them around, try the annotation features (yes they cost performance, but with 2006 you can't even do that, so you have manual work to do ... so let use AutoCAD a few milliseconds) and so much more features... :smileywink:

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,686
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 4 of 6 (299 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 vs 2006 (slower?)

12-08-2011 11:35 AM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

your also using an unsupported OS also

check the system requirements: http://usa.autodesk.com/autocad/system-requirements/

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,698
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 5 of 6 (275 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 vs 2006 (slower?)

12-09-2011 04:42 AM in reply to: johnsnow

Underpowered system: you know the fix, no one here is going to magically find a cure for it any other way. Otherwise, have patience, once the program is up it's not so bad :smileyhappy:

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Distinguished Contributor
damo3
Posts: 353
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 6 of 6 (246 Views)

Re: Autocad 2012 vs 2006 (slower?)

12-11-2011 05:34 PM in reply to: johnsnow

dont suppose that funding included upgrade of computers??? If you want a chance at having a good experience with 2012, you are going to need a more up to date, powerful system using 64bit.  

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.