AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Member
natelora2923
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-22-2010
Message 1 of 12 (1,912 Views)

AutoCAD 2011 will not pin to taskbar

1912 Views, 11 Replies
05-22-2010 05:36 AM
I can not get AutoCAD 2011 (plain version) to pin to my taskbar in Windows 7, 64bit. I can get the AutoCAD Mechanical package to pin, but not the plain version. I also have Inventor 2011 installed. Does anyone know how to pin plain AutoCAD to the taskbar, since I intend to use in instead of Mechanical? Thanks!
Active Member
johncarroll
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-23-2010
Message 2 of 12 (1,912 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 will not pin to taskbar

05-24-2010 09:58 AM in reply to: natelora2923
I haven't figured that one out yet, but you could always pin AutoCAD Mechanical 2011 to your taskbar, edit the properties and description to match AutoCAD Vanilla. Cheap and dirty but will work.
Member
natelora2923
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-22-2010
Message 3 of 12 (1,912 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 will not pin to taskbar

05-24-2010 10:26 AM in reply to: natelora2923
Thanks for the idea. I created a new shortcut on my desktop, directed it to the acad.exe in the Program Files folder, and pinned it to the taskbar. Icon looked correct (without the M). Clicking on the new taskbar icon loaded plain vanilla AutoCAD correctly the first 2 times. After that, it loads Mechanical. Back to the same old problem.

I do not see how to edit the properties or description of a pinned icon. However, it is easy enough to make a new one with the info I want, then pin it to the taskbar.
New Member
blevac
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-24-2010
Message 4 of 12 (1,722 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 will not pin to taskbar

10-24-2010 08:44 AM in reply to: natelora2923

I had the same issue but got around it by opening ACAD 2011 and then right clicking the icon when it shows up on the taskbar.  "Pin this program to task bar" option shows up there.

Contributor
cmcquaid
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
Message 5 of 12 (1,686 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 will not pin to taskbar

10-26-2010 11:17 AM in reply to: natelora2923

I tried that too, and thought it worked, but it is the mechanical icon, and it opens mechanical, even though you pinned it from plain old Autocad.

 

Wish Autodesk would help?!?!?!?

New Member
blevac
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-24-2010
Message 6 of 12 (1,673 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 will not pin to taskbar

10-26-2010 02:01 PM in reply to: cmcquaid

I don't have Mechanical and only use ACAD 2011 alone so I'm not sure I can be of any help. Have you tried editing the path and program name on the taskbar shortcut? The shortcuts themselves are located here on my PC...

 

C:\Users\\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\User Pinned\TaskBar

 

 I tried a quick test and right clicked the ACAD shortcut, selected properties and changed the target path to launch a different program (had to type it in by hand though). I was even able to change the ACAD icon. It worked for me but I think my set up is much more simplified and you may have already tried this. Good luck!

*Expert Elite*
GrantsPirate
Posts: 1,634
Registered: ‎08-15-2008
Message 7 of 12 (1,657 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 will not pin to taskbar

10-26-2010 05:51 PM in reply to: natelora2923

Another alternative is to set a key sequence to open it up.  If you have a shortcut that opens plain AutoCAD go in to properties and set a key sequence to open it.  I use Ctrl+Alt+F8.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
If something I wrote can be interpreted two ways, and one of the ways makes you sad or angry, I meant the other one.
Contributor
cmcquaid
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
Message 8 of 12 (1,650 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 will not pin to taskbar

10-26-2010 07:25 PM in reply to: natelora2923

OK....I know I can do that, but why should I have to?

 

How about if Autodesk just FIXES what they totally messed up in the first place?

 

This is the worst release yet. Don't get me started, A-desk....., read the posts

Member
johnv
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-22-2010
Message 9 of 12 (1,641 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 will not pin to taskbar

10-26-2010 09:51 PM in reply to: natelora2923

Go into your c:/program fies/autodesk (or wherever you have vanilla installed) and find "acad.exe".  Pin that to the taskbar.

 

It is not a Autodesk issue it is a Windows issue in how it handles shortcuts.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 23,016
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 10 of 12 (1,632 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 will not pin to taskbar

10-27-2010 04:19 AM in reply to: cmcquaid

Seems to work fine here.

 

All I did was go to start>programs>Autodesk>AutoCAD>right-click and pin.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.