AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Contributor
Donald_the_Inventor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-29-2010
Message 1 of 5 (3,526 Views)

AutoCAD 2011 fbx Import

3526 Views, 4 Replies
10-09-2011 03:01 AM

I have been trying to use the fbx importer.  I have tried the drop down list as well as typing the comand "FBXIMPORT" and the result is the same, ie nothing gets imported.  I really like using AutoCAD 2011 to do my modeling, but have business partners that require the fbx format.  Is there a fix for this issue that I can not seem to find here on the AutoDesk site?

 

Sincerely,

Donald

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,608
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 5 (3,523 Views)

Betreff: AutoCAD 2011 fbx Import

10-09-2011 03:52 AM in reply to: Donald_the_Inventor

Hi,

 

I'm sorry to tell you that I can reproduce your problem, but I have no solution ready to ship.

I tried it with AutoCAD 2012 and as you described nothing gets imported. Trying the same file with 3DS-Max2012 I can see (and modify) the model. So for AutoCAD I don't have an idea of what you can do with this FBX-file.

 

So you can start either to try to use other options when you create the export-file, or you download the free >>>FBX Converter<<< from Autodesk, save your construction in other formats and convert it with this sw to fbx.

 

Good luck, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
Donald_the_Inventor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-29-2010
Message 3 of 5 (3,478 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 fbx Import

10-09-2011 08:18 PM in reply to: Donald_the_Inventor

I also have Inventor Pro 2011, don't know the .xx version.  Your link goes to the 2012, 3ds for , I am not sure which file to download, as they seem to be plug-ins, so If I down load the 'latest and greatest, will it work?

 

Thank you for your time and efforts.

 

Donald

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,608
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 5 (3,473 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 fbx Import

10-09-2011 10:13 PM in reply to: Donald_the_Inventor

Hi,

 

>> as they seem to be plug-ins

Scroll down the page and you will find "FBX Converter" for Windows, and this is a standalone EXE.

 

Or (inside this page) click <Ctrl>-<F> and use this words for search:

    FBX 2012.2 Converter for Windows

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
Donald_the_Inventor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-29-2010
Message 5 of 5 (3,471 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 fbx Import

10-09-2011 10:41 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Hi All:

 

I did it without using an external converter!!  In the dialog all I had to do was unselect everything, except for the object, not insert it as block, and to put it on to the current layer.  So no lights, no materials, no cameras, not as a block, and no new layer, only the current layer, viola', it comes in no problem.  It appears as a mesh of sorts, but useable.

 

I am feeling good!

 

Sincerely,

 

Donald the Inventor

 

 

PS  I also had a successful export as well!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.