AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Member
dhada
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-02-2009
Message 1 of 13 (171 Views)

Autocad 2010 install

171 Views, 12 Replies
09-03-2009 08:56 AM
I am finally going to upgrade to Autocad 2010 after it has collected quite a bit of dust. An issue with 2009 is forcing the upgrade. I have the standalone and network version of 2010, I also have Map3D 2010 to upgrade. Will the installation disk prompt me and have an option to uninstall previous versions or is it better to use the "add or remove" option from the control panel?
**Master
dmfrazier
Posts: 2,750
Registered: ‎05-13-2003
Message 2 of 13 (171 Views)

Re: Autocad 2010 install

09-03-2009 09:07 AM in reply to: dhada
No prompt to remove previous version, AFAIK.
Better hold onto your previous version until you've thoroughly exercised and validated the new one.
*R.K. McSwain
Message 3 of 13 (171 Views)

Re: Autocad 2010 install

09-03-2009 05:46 PM in reply to: dhada
dhada wrote:
> I am finally going to upgrade to Autocad 2010 after it has collected
> quite a bit of dust. An issue with 2009 is forcing the upgrade. I
> have the standalone and network version of 2010, I also have Map3D
> 2010 to upgrade. Will the installation disk prompt me and have an
> option to uninstall previous versions or is it better to use the "add
> or remove" option from the control panel?

The install media is the same for upgrades as it is for new purchases.
Neither one are aware of existing installations.

Technically, you can run 2009 and 2010 side-by-side. The length of time
Autodesk allows this is governed by the EULA and/or your subscription T&C.


--
R.K. McSwain
http://cadpanacea.com
*Dave Jones
Message 4 of 13 (171 Views)

Re: Autocad 2010 install

09-03-2009 06:32 PM in reply to: dhada
R.K. McSwain wrote:
> dhada wrote:
>> I am finally going to upgrade to Autocad 2010 after it has collected
>> quite a bit of dust. An issue with 2009 is forcing the upgrade. I
>> have the standalone and network version of 2010, I also have Map3D
>> 2010 to upgrade. Will the installation disk prompt me and have an
>> option to uninstall previous versions or is it better to use the "add
>> or remove" option from the control panel?
>
> The install media is the same for upgrades as it is for new purchases.
> Neither one are aware of existing installations.
>
> Technically, you can run 2009 and 2010 side-by-side. The length of time
> Autodesk allows this is governed by the EULA and/or your subscription T&C.
>
>
umm, I think they're *aware* they just allow them without complaint :smileyhappy:
*R.K. McSwain
Message 5 of 13 (171 Views)

Re: Autocad 2010 install

09-05-2009 09:45 AM in reply to: dhada
Dave Jones wrote:

> umm, I think they're *aware* they just allow them without complaint

In what way? Why would it make a difference?


--
R.K. McSwain
http://cadpanacea.com
*Dave Jones
Message 6 of 13 (171 Views)

Re: Autocad 2010 install

09-05-2009 12:36 PM in reply to: dhada
R.K. McSwain wrote:
> Dave Jones wrote:
>
>> umm, I think they're *aware* they just allow them without complaint
>
> In what way? Why would it make a difference?
>
>
If you have 2009 installed, then install 2010 the install asks if you'd
like to migrate settings. That's what I meant by "aware". I would assume
that if you didn't have 2009 installed it wouldn't ask you to migrate
settings. I'm guessing at that as I've not installed a solo Acad since
'90. And, it doesn't make any difference to me as I don't migrate settings
Dave
DDP
Member
dhada
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-02-2009
Message 7 of 13 (171 Views)

Re: Autocad 2010 install

09-07-2009 12:57 PM in reply to: dhada
Thanks. That answers my question. The reason I asked is that some software I've encountered suggests a complete uninstall before installing a newer version otherwise strange things happen.

Dennis
Contributor
ukforurunni
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎07-31-2009
Message 8 of 13 (171 Views)

Autocad 2010 install

09-07-2009 03:01 PM in reply to: dhada
Dear friend,

I had the same problem installing Autocad 2010 just install Windows cleaner then try iam sure it will work


http://download.microsoft.com/download/e/9/d/e9d80355-7ab4-45b8-80e8-983a48d5e1bd/msicuu2.exe
*None
Message 9 of 13 (171 Views)

Re: Autocad 2010 install

09-07-2009 05:14 PM in reply to: dhada
R.K. McSwain wrote:
> Dave Jones wrote:
>
>> umm, I think they're *aware* they just allow them without complaint
>
> In what way? Why would it make a difference?
>
>

You should have no problems installing 2010 WITH 2009 installed. Autocad
will always ask if you want to migrate settings from a previous version.
If you have more than one previous version installed, it will give you
the option of selecting which previous version you want to migrate
custom setting, pgp, etc. from.
BE VERY CAREFUL USING WINDOWS INSTALLER CLEANUP TOOL - IT IS DANGEROUS
AND ANYTHING YOU DELETE USING IT CANNOT - REPEAT - CANNOT BE RESURRECTED.
*Dave Jones
Message 10 of 13 (171 Views)

Re: Autocad 2010 install

09-07-2009 05:50 PM in reply to: dhada
None wrote:
> R.K. McSwain wrote:
>> Dave Jones wrote:
>>
>>> umm, I think they're *aware* they just allow them without complaint
>> In what way? Why would it make a difference?
>>
>>
>
> You should have no problems installing 2010 WITH 2009 installed. Autocad
> will always ask if you want to migrate settings from a previous version.
> If you have more than one previous version installed, it will give you
> the option of selecting which previous version you want to migrate
> custom setting, pgp, etc. from.
> BE VERY CAREFUL USING WINDOWS INSTALLER CLEANUP TOOL - IT IS DANGEROUS
> AND ANYTHING YOU DELETE USING IT CANNOT - REPEAT - CANNOT BE RESURRECTED.

we're not having problems with an install, we're discussing the issue of
the Acad install being "aware". RK wrote:

"The install media is the same for upgrades as it is for new purchases.
Neither one are aware of existing installations."

and I lightly disagreed. If the install media is not "aware" of existing
installations how does it determine that you have a single or multiple
versions installed from which to migrate settings?

no biggie, just a hopefully light hearted conversation about stuff we
like to talk about :smileyhappy:
Dave
DDP
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.