AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
Post 1 of 9

AutoCAD 12 not responding

2605 Views, 8 Replies
09-06-2011 01:29 PM

I am having an issue with AutoCAD 12 that i haven't had in any other version.  I have a brand new computer with Windows 7, Revit 12 and AutoCAD 12 have just been installed (no other versions are currently installed on my computer). When I'm working in a drawing, every 5-10 minutes it just stops working and i get the "thinking" mouse curser.  It lasts for a good 10 seconds or so and if i click my screen within that 10 seconds, i get a 'not responding' at the top of the screen.  I know its not my auto save because to test it i turned it off completely.  Please help.  Its quite annoying. 

Mentor
246 Posts
18 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Post 2 of 9

Re: AutoCAD 12 not responding

09-06-2011 01:50 PM in reply to: jgeckeler
Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
Post 3 of 9

Re: AutoCAD 12 not responding

09-06-2011 02:04 PM in reply to: neaton

Thank you.  i made the modifications and hopefully this will fix the issue.

Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
Post 4 of 9

Re: AutoCAD 12 not responding

09-08-2011 01:19 PM in reply to: neaton

I made these changes and i still have the problem.

Contributor
17 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-14-2012
Post 5 of 9

Re: AutoCAD 12 not responding

01-16-2012 09:20 AM in reply to: jgeckeler

Just to follow up here.  I hesitate to fault AutoCAD for this.  I just had the same thing happen using Excel.  Windows7???

Member
4 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
Post 6 of 9

Re: AutoCAD 12 not responding

01-16-2012 10:25 AM in reply to: jimandkat

as it turns out, it was a problem with an xref in my drawing.  as a result, the drawing isnt freezing anymore but i still dont know what the problem is with the xref.

*Expert Elite*
9,808 Posts
1,210 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Post 7 of 9

Re: AutoCAD 12 not responding

01-16-2012 11:31 AM in reply to: jgeckeler

Hi,

 

>> it was a problem with an xref in my drawing.  as a result, [...]

>> i still dont know what the problem is with the xref

Have you tried to open the drawing with _RECOVERALL? That evaluates the database within the drawings and do repair if necessary, also on XRef's

Are your XRef's saved in DWG2010 format?

Does your XRef's contain a lot of annotation-scales or have you cleaned them?

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contributor
15 Posts
4 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-16-2012
Post 8 of 9

Re: AutoCAD 12 not responding

01-16-2012 12:01 PM in reply to: jgeckeler

It could be that Autocad is trying to communicate with the exchange server.

See if turning of "check for live enablers" in the options/ system tab will solve the problem.

Contributor
17 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-14-2012
Post 9 of 9

Re: AutoCAD 12 not responding

01-17-2012 11:55 AM in reply to: andylaug

Let me chime in once again about he "not responding" issue.  It happens frequently here at work(Dell Precision 3400, 64 bit, AutoCad 2010, Windows 7 Pro, 8Gb ram, Nvidia GeForce 9400, Office 2007.  Happens frequently in AutoCAD but rarley in Word or Excel.  At home, Dell T1600, 64bit, 8Gb ram, AutoCAD 2012, Windows 7, Nvidia Quatro 2000, Office 2010.  Happens frequently in AutoCAD, Word and Excel.  A solution would be nice.  Any Microsoft folks listening???

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!