AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
damo3
Posts: 353
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 1 of 8 (2,583 Views)

Associative Hatch - boundaries

2583 Views, 7 Replies
05-22-2012 07:36 PM

Is there a way to maintain associative hatches, but change its functionality when selected slightly.

 

Ie: When i select a hatch i have placed in a rectangle, it selects the rectangle also. Properties dialog shows 'ALL (2)' selections instead of only the hatch i originally selected. deleting the hatch, therefore deletes the rectangle.

 

Correct me if im wrong, but i recall a time when i could have an associative hatch, and if i selected it, it would be only the hatch object selected, therefore could be deleted without removing the boundary. I now need to go to properties, select the hatch, then change its associativity to 'NO' then delete it?!  

 

So am i wrong, or am i missing something??

Contributor
nijhuis
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎09-26-2010
Message 2 of 8 (2,573 Views)

Re: Associative Hatch - boundaries

05-23-2012 03:43 AM in reply to: damo3

you can turn selection cycle on, then select either the boundary or the hatch

 

Active Contributor
wundrlik
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 3 of 8 (2,569 Views)

Re: Associative Hatch - boundaries

05-23-2012 04:40 AM in reply to: damo3

You can also change the following System Variable:

 

PICKSTYLE

 

Change it to 1, (it's probably set to 2 or higher)

 

 

Ryan A Wunderlich
Royal Caribbean Cruises Ltd.
*Pro
nestly
Posts: 1,283
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
Message 4 of 8 (2,560 Views)

Re: Associative Hatch - boundaries

05-23-2012 06:10 AM in reply to: damo3

HPBOUNDRETAIN

0 is OFF

1 will create an object that encloses each hatch.

Distinguished Contributor
damo3
Posts: 353
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 5 of 8 (2,547 Views)

Re: Associative Hatch - boundaries

05-23-2012 04:29 PM in reply to: damo3

Sorry All, everything suggested is already set that way! anything else? This is the exact behaviour:

Create a rectangle

pick point an associative hatch and finish

then select the hatch now and the rectangle will automatically select, properties registers 2 objects.

now delete the hatch and the rectangle disappears.

BUT if i select the rectangle only, the hatch WONT be selected. if i delete the rectangle, the hatch remains.

 

So, is this expected behaviour? I'm sure this wasnt always the usual behaviour for associative hatches, maybe I'm wrong?  

Valued Contributor
Dave_S
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎11-13-2008
Message 6 of 8 (2,536 Views)

Re: Associative Hatch - boundaries

05-24-2012 08:21 AM in reply to: damo3

That is weird, since the only way I could mae this happen as you describe is to change my pickstyle which was set to 0 to a value of 2 or 3. Once I put it back to 0 it reverted back to one object selected when the hatch was picked. I also tried it with hpboundretain on, which creates a secondary boundary, that I normally do not use. Even that setting did not make any extra objects being selected when the hatch was picked, if pickstyle was less than 2. Normally I toggle it on or off (1 or 0) with ^ shift A when I am editing groups.

*Pro
nestly
Posts: 1,283
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
Message 7 of 8 (2,531 Views)

Re: Associative Hatch - boundaries

05-24-2012 09:19 AM in reply to: Dave_S

Yeah, after testing, I'd have to say PICKSTYLE 2 behaves as described and PICKSTYLE 1 does not.

 

Try this combination (the defaults)

 

PICKSTYLE = 1

HPASSOC  = 1

HPBOUNDRETAIN = 0

Distinguished Contributor
damo3
Posts: 353
Registered: ‎04-08-2008
Message 8 of 8 (2,521 Views)

Re: Associative Hatch - boundaries

05-24-2012 03:44 PM in reply to: damo3

cheers everyone, seems to have done the trick. Although, i think i may have lead you all astray because when i booted up this morning my pickstyle was set to 3. changing it to 1 rectified the problem as was suggested earlier in the thread. I did check this value earlier though so Im not sure where i have gone wrong, but none the less, 3 new variables to brush up on.

 

thanks.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.