AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
77 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-27-2008
Post 1 of 15
Accepted Solution

Annoying automatic switch to other open drawing

1435 Views, 14 Replies
03-01-2012 10:14 AM

I had noticed this in earlier versions (and in Civil 3D) too but now its getting very annoying.

If i have alot of drawings open at a time and I run any command in one drawing which takes time to load, when the load is complete I automatically get switched to some other random drawing that I have open. And sometimes I start working in that other drawing without realizing that its not the drawing I was in before the refresh.

Please tell a fix

I'm glad I could help. There actually is a "fix" for this already, and that is to abandon the VBA Enabler and port your scripts over to VB.NET. There's a FAQ link in the first paragraph on the VBA Enabler download page for more information about this. 

*Expert Elite*
24,273 Posts
1,602 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Post 2 of 15

Re: Annoying automatic switch to other open drawing

03-01-2012 10:19 AM in reply to: amar_mann

Ditto, QSAVE will do that here if I have more drawings open that I ought to and the file being saved is huge/slow to do so. I've not seen it in any other command yet.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Contributor
77 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-27-2008
Post 3 of 15

Re: Annoying automatic switch to other open drawing

03-01-2012 10:23 AM in reply to: pendean

Agreed. When I try to save a drawing and wait for the save to complete, I land in a completely different drawing when the save is comeplete. It happens sometimes even when I am moving, copying or any command which needs a bit of loading. I can say that after any command that takes a bit of loading, I land in a different drawing.

Product Support
428 Posts
18 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-25-2010
Post 4 of 15

Re: Annoying automatic switch to other open drawing

03-02-2012 04:19 PM in reply to: amar_mann

There are focus issues with the VBA Enabler installed on 64-bit systems. Do you guys maybe have that installed?



Bryce Thelin
Valued Contributor
77 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-27-2008
Post 5 of 15

Re: Annoying automatic switch to other open drawing

03-05-2012 07:12 AM in reply to: bryce.thelin

I have no idea. How do I check?

Product Support
428 Posts
18 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-25-2010
Post 6 of 15

Re: Annoying automatic switch to other open drawing

03-05-2012 08:20 AM in reply to: amar_mann

It will show as an installed program in Add or Remove Programs/Programs and Features as "AutoCAD 2012 VBA Enabler."



Bryce Thelin
Valued Contributor
77 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-27-2008
Post 7 of 15

Re: Annoying automatic switch to other open drawing

03-05-2012 08:21 AM in reply to: bryce.thelin

Yes I have it. So is there any fix to it? THanks

Product Support
428 Posts
18 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-25-2010
Post 8 of 15

Re: Annoying automatic switch to other open drawing

03-05-2012 08:49 AM in reply to: amar_mann

The focus issue with the VBA Enabler is usually exhibited by not being able to restore AutoCAD from the taskbar when minimized with more than one drawing open. I've also seen the drawing window maximize/restore but won't gain focus, like you need to click on it twice to make it active. There isn't a fix for this, unfortunately. The problem comes about from the VBA Enabler being a 32-bit program trying to interact with a 64-bit AutoCAD.

 

If the VBA Enabler is causing your drawing windows to switch on you, the only way to know is to uninstall it. It only takes a second. Here's the link to download it again so  you can reinstall:

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/item?siteID=123112&id=12715668&linkID=9240618

 

What is your operating system and is it 32- or 64-bit?



Bryce Thelin
Valued Contributor
77 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-27-2008
Post 9 of 15

Re: Annoying automatic switch to other open drawing

03-05-2012 08:52 AM in reply to: bryce.thelin

I am on 64-bit system. The symtoms that you have described are exactly what I am facing. So I agree that VBA is the problem. Hopefully it will be fixed one day. Thanks

Product Support
428 Posts
18 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-25-2010
Post 10 of 15

Re: Annoying automatic switch to other open drawing

03-05-2012 09:02 AM in reply to: amar_mann

I'm glad I could help. There actually is a "fix" for this already, and that is to abandon the VBA Enabler and port your scripts over to VB.NET. There's a FAQ link in the first paragraph on the VBA Enabler download page for more information about this. 



Bryce Thelin
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!