AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Active Contributor
kevynm
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎05-31-2009
Message 1 of 7 (559 Views)
Accepted Solution

annotative text misbehaving

559 Views, 6 Replies
01-15-2012 07:35 AM

once in every 10 drawings i create in Autocad 2012, my 'annotative' bunches up the moment I re-visit the drawing.

thus I have to re-align text every time i open that drawing. (see the attached files)

What am I doing wrong.

My paperspace sheets do not contain multiple scales.

Help

 

attachemnt 2 is how I want the text.

attachemtn 1 is what happens when I re-open the drawing.

 

Thanks in advance

Hi,

 

ok, try the following steps, at least that worked for me using (plain) AutoCAD 2012 SP1

  • open the drawing
  • run command _AUDIT and let the problems be repaired
  • click on the MText-object (that seems to be moved to the left)
  • move it (using command _MOVE or using the GRIPS) to the corrent position
  • right-click it and within the context menu look for annoation ==> synchronise (sorry, I have a german version so I don't know the exact english words for this)
  • save the drawing
  • close the drawing and open it

==> at my pc the MText object is placed at the position I defined previously at the move/grip-stretch usage.

 

What I see when I open your drawing: you have a lot of proxies embedded in your drawing, starting vom Mech2000 and some application vendors also. Make your drawing as clean as possible to get rid of them.

Also don't save your drawing back to DWG2000-format, let it be saved in the current version (because AutoCAD 2000 does not know anything about annoation text-scaling).

 

HTH, - alfred -

Hi,

 

>> How can I make such drawings as clean as possible.

Activate ModelSpace, thaw all layers you need (and switch them on), then ZOOM Extents + ZOOM 0.5x

Start command _WBLOCK, select the entities on the ModelSpace ==> that gives you the option to create a new drawing holding only what you selected.

Another way may be to copy&paste the entities you need from the current drawing to a new one.

 

Then change to the new drawing and use _LAYOUT ==> _TEMPLATE to import the layouts from the old drawing to the current one.

 

Good luck, - alfred -

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,608
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 7 (546 Views)

Re: annotative text misbehaving

01-15-2012 10:28 AM in reply to: kevynm

Hi,

 

upload your drawing with 2 or 3 of these objects. Without knowing how your objects are built it's not possible for one answer. It's quite different if the objects are of type Text or MText, Block and Attributes having the textstyle set to annotative or the Block is defined so ....

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Contributor
kevynm
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎05-31-2009
Message 3 of 7 (544 Views)

Re: annotative text misbehaving

01-15-2012 12:32 PM in reply to: kevynm

Hi Alfred.

Heres the uploaded drawing.

In this dwg I had 2 sets of annotative scales

3/32" and 3/16".

 

Thank you for looking into this problem

Kev

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,608
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 4 of 7 (542 Views)

Re: annotative text misbehaving

01-15-2012 12:54 PM in reply to: kevynm

Hi,

 

ok, try the following steps, at least that worked for me using (plain) AutoCAD 2012 SP1

  • open the drawing
  • run command _AUDIT and let the problems be repaired
  • click on the MText-object (that seems to be moved to the left)
  • move it (using command _MOVE or using the GRIPS) to the corrent position
  • right-click it and within the context menu look for annoation ==> synchronise (sorry, I have a german version so I don't know the exact english words for this)
  • save the drawing
  • close the drawing and open it

==> at my pc the MText object is placed at the position I defined previously at the move/grip-stretch usage.

 

What I see when I open your drawing: you have a lot of proxies embedded in your drawing, starting vom Mech2000 and some application vendors also. Make your drawing as clean as possible to get rid of them.

Also don't save your drawing back to DWG2000-format, let it be saved in the current version (because AutoCAD 2000 does not know anything about annoation text-scaling).

 

HTH, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Contributor
kevynm
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎05-31-2009
Message 5 of 7 (540 Views)

Re: annotative text misbehaving

01-15-2012 01:28 PM in reply to: kevynm

Hi Alfred,

I think your solution worked.

Danke Schon!!

Kev

Active Contributor
kevynm
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎05-31-2009
Message 6 of 7 (534 Views)

Re: annotative text misbehaving

01-15-2012 01:35 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Hi Alfred,

This drawing comes to me from various architects/engineers. I have no control over the s/w they use.

How can I make such drawings as clean as possible.

Thanks in advance

Kev

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,608
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 7 of 7 (529 Views)

Re: annotative text misbehaving

01-15-2012 02:24 PM in reply to: kevynm

Hi,

 

>> How can I make such drawings as clean as possible.

Activate ModelSpace, thaw all layers you need (and switch them on), then ZOOM Extents + ZOOM 0.5x

Start command _WBLOCK, select the entities on the ModelSpace ==> that gives you the option to create a new drawing holding only what you selected.

Another way may be to copy&paste the entities you need from the current drawing to a new one.

 

Then change to the new drawing and use _LAYOUT ==> _TEMPLATE to import the layouts from the old drawing to the current one.

 

Good luck, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.