AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,525
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 11 of 17 (375 Views)

Re: ALT+0160 Not Working

01-11-2013 11:50 AM in reply to: JGerth

JGerth

Now I'm more confused: is it && or %%?  Either way, just the same symbol twice, not a space or anything?  Because it doesn't work for me.  Whatever I type is displayed on the sheet.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
JGerth
Posts: 2,225
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Message 12 of 17 (370 Views)

Re: ALT+0160 Not Working

01-11-2013 12:09 PM in reply to: troma

two percent signs, no spaces or any other character before, after, or in between.  It's been working here, starting with Acad 2009 and SSM, and still working now in 2011 C3D here at the office.  I haven't tried it on my home 2013 setup - so possibly it's no longer working with later versions?  i'd be suprised though -- %% has been an escape character sequence in Acad for a while now and I would not think the devs would break it.

 

RK pointed out that a space character in the sheet set property should work now with versions  2010 or higher, and display blank in a field that points back to the sheet set property for its value..

 

  WHOA!!

 

I just tried it, and learned something bizarre -- if it's just a field, or a field in Mtext, the two percent signs display.  BUT -- when it's a field in an Attribute, the two %% signs display as a blank.  The latter scenario, attributes in my title block, is how I've always used SSM fields, and I guess that's why i had never observed the other situation.

 

Good thing it's friday, and damnear beer:thirty -- i think i need one now.  guess the dev's don't believe that consistency is a virtue.  I'm just glad that the sam adams brewmasters do!...

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,525
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 13 of 17 (368 Views)

Re: ALT+0160 Not Working

01-11-2013 12:27 PM in reply to: JGerth

@JG

Yep, I'm working with fields in Mtext.  We used to use blocks with attributes for everything because the mtext fields didn't work at all in 2008.  But in 2011 they do (mostly!) and since we only use sheet sets for about half our projects it's nice to be able to just edit the text in the rest of them, rather then editing an attribute which is always messy.

 

@RK

Space does not work for me in C3D 2011.  It works initially, but when I close the program & restart, the space has been deleted, leaving no data. The sheet displays "----"

 

A non-breaking space is working just great for me.  Wonder why it didn't work for the OP on this thread?


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Mentor
doben
Posts: 184
Registered: ‎06-09-2007
Message 14 of 17 (359 Views)

Re: ALT+0160 Not Working

01-11-2013 03:18 PM in reply to: troma

ALT+0160 has always worked for me but not for some in my office who have newer computers. (I have a new one but  kept my old keyboard) They were getting question marks using ALT+0160 but not with %%. 

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,634
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 15 of 17 (336 Views)

Re: ALT+0160 Not Working

01-19-2013 08:54 AM in reply to: troma

troma wrote:

 

@RK

Space does not work for me in C3D 2011.  It works initially, but when I close the program & restart, the space has been deleted, leaving no data. The sheet displays "----"

 

 


Ok, I did not try to close the application and restart. I did close the drawing and reopen it.

I'll try closing the app next time and reply back.

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,525
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 16 of 17 (313 Views)

Re: ALT+0160 Not Working

01-22-2013 02:13 PM in reply to: doben

Interesting, so sounds like the keyboard is the problem.  I wonder if the numpad isn't working for those special characters.  I'd be interested to know if it works when they copy/paste a non-breaking space from character map or one that you could email to them.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Mentor
doben
Posts: 184
Registered: ‎06-09-2007
Message 17 of 17 (298 Views)

Re: ALT+0160 Not Working

01-24-2013 09:11 AM in reply to: troma

Hi Troma,

As I mentioned earlier it wasn't me having the problem but others with new computers including the keyboard. I'll give the copy/paste a try - I'm not at my work for a few days but will  post the result when I get back.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.