AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Member
KMidd
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-24-2012
Message 1 of 3 (624 Views)

AEC Objects?

624 Views, 2 Replies
07-24-2012 12:01 PM

I am currently using AutoCAD Architecture at work which allows me to use AEC "smart" objects (walls, windows, doors). This is a staple in my AutoCAD experience. I am planning on branching off and starting my own business and was hoping to only purchase AutoCAD LT, vs the mega expensive ACA, seeing as I don't use any of the other 3D tools. Is there any way to use these AEC objects with AutoCAD 2012? or even AutoCAD LT? Or are these tools exclusive to ACA?

*Expert Elite*
dbroad
Posts: 1,647
Registered: ‎08-16-2007
Message 2 of 3 (613 Views)

Re: AEC Objects?

07-24-2012 02:28 PM in reply to: KMidd

You can view them or plot them but they are only proxy graphics in plain AutoCAD.

*Expert Elite*
vladimir.michl
Posts: 260
Registered: ‎09-17-2006
Message 3 of 3 (591 Views)

Re: AEC Objects?

07-30-2012 06:44 AM in reply to: KMidd

Define "use". If you need to draw new objects, you will need AutoCAD Architecture (or MEP). If you need just to view and edit them, you will need only the free "object enabler" to process these special AEC objects.

 

Vladimir Michl, www.cadstudio.cz   www.cadforum.cz


Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.