AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Member
39CentStamp
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-23-2010
Message 1 of 4 (2,536 Views)

Add Text To a Line - How To ?

2536 Views, 3 Replies
12-23-2010 09:19 AM

With Visio i can easily add text to a line like the example below. How can i do this with AutoCAD?

 

At another forum the suggestion was to "Convert the line to block and make the text an attribute. The attribute will move with the block". I have been trying to figure out how to do this since last night with no luck.

 

Is there an easier way to accomplish the task? If not can someone walk me thru (or point me to ) the steps to make the line a block and make the text an attribute?

 

Thanks

 

 

New Member
drhaefne
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-02-2006
Message 2 of 4 (2,519 Views)

Re: Add Text To a Line - How To ?

12-23-2010 11:01 AM in reply to: 39CentStamp

Go to the Insert menu and choose Field...

 

Choose the Comments field.  Attach the field to your line.  Select the field and replace the default characters with your text.

 

Invoke the Properties command and change the justification of the field to Middle Center.  Turn the Background Mask on and use the drawing background color as your fill.  Use the Insert osnap and move the field to the location of your choice on the line.

*Expert Elite*
ToanDN
Posts: 1,884
Registered: ‎09-26-2006
Message 3 of 4 (2,501 Views)

Re: Add Text To a Line - How To ?

12-23-2010 02:40 PM in reply to: drhaefne

Why create a field then make it become regular text?

*Expert Elite*
ToanDN
Posts: 1,884
Registered: ‎09-26-2006
Message 4 of 4 (2,498 Views)

Re: Add Text To a Line - How To ?

12-23-2010 02:55 PM in reply to: 39CentStamp

Use constrain command: GcCoincident

See attached sample.  Attribute block is another approach but from looking at your example you probably don't need it.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.