AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Valued Contributor
Kycau
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎06-09-2013
Message 1 of 6 (539 Views)

acad.pgp

539 Views, 5 Replies
06-21-2013 01:05 AM

In the acad.pgp file ("Tools" > "Customize" > "Edit Program Parameters (acad.pgp)" ), there are several lists of command alias, and each list contains alias...

 

Have a look at these two lists from my acad.pgp:

;  -- Sample aliases for AutoCAD commands --  

[...]

D,         *DIMSTYLE

[...]

 

;  -- User Defined Command Aliases --

[...]

D,         *DIMLINEAR

[...]

 

so, you see, I have the same alias for two commands... Correct me if I am wrong, but as far as I understand, the alias from ";  -- User Defined Command Aliases --" just have the highest priority in the acad.pgp. Am I right ?

 

This way, I can edit the ";  -- User Defined Command Aliases --" alias list in the Notepad, without bothering myself, if this alias is already used in the ";  -- Sample aliases for AutoCAD commands --  ". Is this so ?)

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,244
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 6 (529 Views)

Re: acad.pgp

06-21-2013 05:36 AM in reply to: Kycau
AutoCAD will read the last entry it finds: so if D=Dimlinear is at the bottom of the ACAD.PGP file that is what D will get assigned to. That's why the user defined section is at the bottom.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Contributor
Kycau
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎06-09-2013
Message 3 of 6 (524 Views)

Re: acad.pgp

06-21-2013 06:05 AM in reply to: pendean

thx ) 

now I know exactly how it works

Valued Contributor
Kycau
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎06-09-2013
Message 4 of 6 (523 Views)

Re: acad.pgp

06-21-2013 06:08 AM in reply to: Kycau

What does

; Aliases for commands discontinued in AutoCAD 2004:

mean ?

 

That in AutoCAD 2009 o earlier these alias will not work ?

cause I use AutoCAD 2011, and at least one command from the list works (BMOD, *BLOCK).

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,244
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 5 of 6 (508 Views)

Re: acad.pgp

06-21-2013 09:37 AM in reply to: Kycau
Someone at Autodesk decided to mask dead commands with other current/available commands to help those users that may not know it.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Valued Contributor
Kycau
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎06-09-2013
Message 6 of 6 (505 Views)

Re: acad.pgp

06-21-2013 10:56 AM in reply to: pendean

so that's the point, that ALL of them work in AutoCAD 2011...

For exemple:

; Aliases for commands discontinued in AutoCAD 2000:

[...]

DDATTDEF,   *ATTDEF

[...]

 

;  -- Sample aliases for AutoCAD commands --    

[...]

ATT,       *ATTDEF

[...]

 

 

both of them work properly in my AutoCAD 2011 :smileyhappy:

English is not my native language, but "; Aliases for commands discontinued in AutoCAD 2000:" I would understand as if they don't work in Autocad 2000+ versions. 

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.