AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
jparks_79
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎01-23-2008
Message 1 of 10 (281 Views)

Acad 2012 shortcut always launches Mechanical 2012

281 Views, 9 Replies
06-21-2012 07:25 AM

Hello,

 

I have read through many posts on this topic and yet to find a definitave solution.

 

I have some users in my office, for whatever reason, cannot launch Plain Autocad 2012. The Autocad 2012 splash screen shows up, but autocad Mechanical is always launching. This causes issues that I am not going into detail about, but they need to launch the Autocad 2012 interface. We have tried changing the installed desktop shortcut, launching from the taskbar, launching from the start menu. Nothing.

 

They are running win7 64. If anyone has any tips, it would be greatly appreciated.

 

Thanks,

Jeremy

Valued Mentor
jonmcfarlandWS
Posts: 261
Registered: ‎09-22-2010
Message 2 of 10 (277 Views)

Re: Acad 2012 shortcut always launches Mechanical 2012

06-21-2012 12:35 PM in reply to: jparks_79

When you right-click on the shortcut and click on the Shortcut tab of the Properties dialog box that opens, does the Target field show: "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2012 - English\acad.exe" ?

Jon

Please select "Accept as Solution" if your question was answered.
curtainwallBIM.blogspot.com
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Distinguished Contributor
jparks_79
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎01-23-2008
Message 3 of 10 (273 Views)

Re: Acad 2012 shortcut always launches Mechanical 2012

06-21-2012 12:41 PM in reply to: jonmcfarlandWS

Hi Jon,

 

Thanks for the reply. Our installations do not contain the path you listed below. But the shortcut target points to;

"C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Mechanical 2012\UserDataCache"

 

C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Mechanical 2012 is the installed folder for both our acad and acad mechanical 2012.

 

Thanks,

Jeremy

Valued Mentor
jonmcfarlandWS
Posts: 261
Registered: ‎09-22-2010
Message 4 of 10 (268 Views)

Re: Acad 2012 shortcut always launches Mechanical 2012

06-21-2012 01:09 PM in reply to: jparks_79

Jeremy,

 

This:

"C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Mechanical 2012\UserDataCache"

is the Start In location and not the target - the actual command and command path that the shortcut icon in linked to.  This needs to point to a file rather than a folder.  The Target should be just above the Start In field in the Shortcu tab.

 

 

Jon

Please select "Accept as Solution" if your question was answered.
curtainwallBIM.blogspot.com
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Distinguished Contributor
jparks_79
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎01-23-2008
Message 5 of 10 (265 Views)

Re: Acad 2012 shortcut always launches Mechanical 2012

06-21-2012 01:26 PM in reply to: jonmcfarlandWS

Hi Jon,

 

On my machine this is how the shortcut appears. My shortcuts work fine. On the other users machines, the target and start in looks the same. The image on the right is from the Acad shortcut, the image on the left is from the acad mechanical. The target on the ACAD shortcut cannot be modified.

 

shortcut screenshots.png

Valued Mentor
jonmcfarlandWS
Posts: 261
Registered: ‎09-22-2010
Message 6 of 10 (263 Views)

Re: Acad 2012 shortcut always launches Mechanical 2012

06-21-2012 01:37 PM in reply to: jparks_79

Got it.  The AutoCAD shortcut is just pointing to the AutoCAD Mechanical shortcut.

 

Try this:   http://www.mcadusers.com/?p=324

 

Jon

Jon

Please select "Accept as Solution" if your question was answered.
curtainwallBIM.blogspot.com
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Distinguished Contributor
jparks_79
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎01-23-2008
Message 7 of 10 (260 Views)

Re: Acad 2012 shortcut always launches Mechanical 2012

06-21-2012 01:43 PM in reply to: jonmcfarlandWS

Hi Jon,

 

Unfortunately, that trick doesn't work. As I mentioned, the screenshots were from my machine. the regular acad launches fine even though the shortcut would hint that acad mechanical is the target. But on the other machines having the issue, I have tried the trick of "send to desktop", without success. The weirdest thing is the splashscreen is for Acad, not acad mechanical.

 

I wonder if some regkey is corrupted or permissions have been changed.

 

Thanks,

jeremy

Active Member
nicola.pasquino
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-11-2007
Message 8 of 10 (242 Views)

Re: Acad 2012 shortcut always launches Mechanical 2012

06-26-2012 06:02 AM in reply to: jparks_79

Hi,

I solved it by resetting the profile. Open Autocad-Options-Profile reset. I think it's a bug

 

Regards

*Expert Elite*
Bob_Zurunkle
Posts: 1,041
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
Message 9 of 10 (234 Views)

Re: Acad 2012 shortcut always launches Mechanical 2012

06-26-2012 10:17 AM in reply to: nicola.pasquino

Just going into Mechanical's profile and selecting Vanilla is still going to leave a lot of the vertical commands in place, such as the power dimensions and the different fillet command...

What you can do is go through your windows Start menu to the Mechanical folder, and there you will see separate launch icons for AutoCAD and for Mechanical. The AutoCAD one will launch true AutoCAD without the vertical add-on.

 

What I did was to create shortcuts for both, and then pinned them to my Start menu. Now I can launch both side-by-side!

If by some odd chance my nattering was useful -- that's great, glad to help. But if it actually solved your issue, then please mark my solution as accepted :smileyhappy:
Distinguished Contributor
jparks_79
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎01-23-2008
Message 10 of 10 (231 Views)

Re: Acad 2012 shortcut always launches Mechanical 2012

06-26-2012 11:28 AM in reply to: jparks_79

Hi Nicola,

 

I will try that when I get back in the office. Sounds promising

 

Hi Bob,

 

Normally the directions you detailed below works fine, as it does on my machine and most others in the office. Its just these 2 or 3 machines that are behaving in a weird way. Especially the launching from the acad 2012 shortcut, seeing the Regular Autocad Splash screen but getting Autocad mechanical.

 

Autodesk has recomended some changes. I will try them when I get back in the office next week and update this post.

http://upandready.typepad.com/up_and_ready/2011/10/autocad-mechanical-2012-creating-a-pinnable-short...

 

Thanks for all the help guys!

Jeremy

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.