AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
drafter1411
Posts: 395
Registered: ‎10-13-2008
Message 1 of 8 (138 Views)

3D

138 Views, 7 Replies
12-04-2012 11:26 AM

cansomeone help with is. I'm trying to make a 3D funnel, but this isn't a regular funnel look at the drawing.

I can use revolve but that gives me a circular type funnel.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 8,982
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 2 of 8 (134 Views)

Re: 3D

12-04-2012 12:20 PM in reply to: drafter1411

Hi,

 

draw upper contour, lower contour and use command _LOFT.

Then you can assign a shell.

 

Good luck, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Distinguished Contributor
drafter1411
Posts: 395
Registered: ‎10-13-2008
Message 3 of 8 (132 Views)

Re: 3D

12-04-2012 12:24 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

thanks for the reply that didn't work it drew a mess..lol

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,571
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 8 (125 Views)

Re: 3D

12-04-2012 01:03 PM in reply to: drafter1411

drafter1411 wrote:

thanks for the reply that didn't work it drew a mess..lol


Of course it will work.

Attach your attempt here so that someone can see what you did wrong.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
drafter1411
Posts: 395
Registered: ‎10-13-2008
Message 5 of 8 (121 Views)

Re: 3D

12-04-2012 01:10 PM in reply to: JDMather
 
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,571
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 6 of 8 (120 Views)

Re: 3D

12-04-2012 01:14 PM in reply to: drafter1411

I don't see any Loft feature in this file.  In fact it is all 2D?

 

Your other posts indicate you have access to Autodesk Inventor.

Wouldn't this design be far far far far easier to do in Inventor (and easier to show you how to do it as there is a history tree)?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
drafter1411
Posts: 395
Registered: ‎10-13-2008
Message 7 of 8 (113 Views)

Re: 3D

12-04-2012 01:19 PM in reply to: JDMather

I have done it in inventor, I was attempting to do it in AutoCAD.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,571
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 8 of 8 (108 Views)

Re: 3D

12-04-2012 01:49 PM in reply to: drafter1411

I would do it exactly the same in AutoCAD as I would do it in Inventor.

Attach your ipt file here.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.