AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

Reply
New Member
ercase
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 1 of 6 (159 Views)

3D View Drafting

159 Views, 5 Replies
03-06-2012 03:58 PM

I really hope this is something simple.  Recently I have started drafting more 3D structures for visualization purposes since we mainly deal in Civil aspects.  Coming from a Microstation backrground, if you wanted to draw a line in the front "plane", you would type in "f" while drawing the line.  This would hold true for top, left, right, back, etc.  As an autocad 3D newb who can only find seemingly difficult ways to switch planes while drafting, what is the quick keyboard shortcut/keyin/command?  As with all switching over, it is frustrating...but to go from such a seemingly simple process to not being able to even snap to a line previously drawn in a different plane is simply mind numbing.  Please make me Autocad smart...

Distinguished Contributor
zzz144
Posts: 184
Registered: ‎06-12-2008
Message 2 of 6 (155 Views)

Re: 3D View Drafting

03-06-2012 04:22 PM in reply to: ercase

Hi Ercase

 

Wellcome to AutoCAD - a powerful program but not too user friendly for begginers... :smileyhappy: 

 

 

do not use lines - they can be drawn in space regardless of the plane you are on... they snap to anything. 

instead use polylines... polylines can only be drawn on the active xy plane.... 

 

also consider assiging views to shortcut keys using CUI command... but be careful not to screw anything up in the CUI window :smileyhappy: 

 

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
zzz144
Posts: 184
Registered: ‎06-12-2008
Message 3 of 6 (150 Views)

Re: 3D View Drafting

03-06-2012 04:26 PM in reply to: zzz144

and on the ribbon you can find it here... 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
drjohn
Posts: 1,718
Registered: ‎03-01-2006
Message 4 of 6 (149 Views)

Re: 3D View Drafting

03-06-2012 04:26 PM in reply to: zzz144

zzz144 wrote:

Hi Ercase

 

 

do not use lines - they can be drawn in space regardless of the plane you are on... they snap to anything. 

instead use polylines... polylines can only be drawn on the active xy plane

 

 


Actually, a 2D pline will maintain the elevation of the first pick throughout it's length regardless of the current workplane or X,Y plane.

Distinguished Contributor
zzz144
Posts: 184
Registered: ‎06-12-2008
Message 5 of 6 (142 Views)

Re: 3D View Drafting

03-06-2012 04:29 PM in reply to: drjohn

thats what i meant by active - but yes you are right... 

*Expert Elite*
GrantsPirate
Posts: 1,626
Registered: ‎08-15-2008
Message 6 of 6 (135 Views)

Re: 3D View Drafting

03-06-2012 07:26 PM in reply to: ercase

Toggle on DUCS at the bottom of the screen and draw away.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
If something I wrote can be interpreted two ways, and one of the ways makes you sad or angry, I meant the other one.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.