AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Member
Reier
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-12-2008
Message 1 of 8 (1,991 Views)

X-Y scale

1991 Views, 7 Replies
02-12-2008 01:43 AM
Hi, I'm new at working with AutoCAD. Can anyone please tell me how I can scale an object (or several objects at once) with different X and Y scales? For example, I have a square of 40x40 mm's and I want it to be 40x20 mm's. This is an easy one because I can stretch it I know but I want to scale it... Is this possible? Thanks for your replies ;-)

Reier.
*Gordon Stephens
Message 2 of 8 (1,991 Views)

Re: X-Y scale

02-12-2008 02:19 AM in reply to: Reier
There is a way of doing it but not by a single command. Create a block of
the various items making sure that Scale uniformly is *not* ticked and that
Allow exploding *is* ticked. Insert this block, and enter the two different
x and y factors when prompted. Once inserted, you can then explode the
block. You can semi automate this if you know various of the parameters
before hand, either by making those entries in the dialog box (tedious if
you have to do it often) or by writing a macro or a short lisp routine that
uses the command line version of INSERT ( -insert ).
--
Gordon

wrote in message news:5845180@discussion.autodesk.com...
Hi, I'm new at working with AutoCAD. Can anyone please tell me how I can
scale an object (or several objects at once) with different X and Y scales?
For example, I have a square of 40x40 mm's and I want it to be 40x20 mm's.
This is an easy one because I can stretch it I know but I want to scale
it... Is this possible? Thanks for your replies ;-)

Reier.
*Paul Kolarik
Message 3 of 8 (1,991 Views)

Re: X-Y scale

02-12-2008 06:23 AM in reply to: Reier
If you happen to be working with something that's already a block, just
single-click on the object and adjust the x and y scales in the Properties
palette.

Paul

wrote in message news:5845180@discussion.autodesk.com...
Hi, I'm new at working with AutoCAD. Can anyone please tell me how I can
scale an object (or several objects at once) with different X and Y scales?
For example, I have a square of 40x40 mm's and I want it to be 40x20 mm's.
This is an easy one because I can stretch it I know but I want to scale
it... Is this possible? Thanks for your replies ;-)

Reier.
Distinguished Mentor
lpseifert
Posts: 889
Registered: ‎08-08-2006
Message 4 of 8 (1,991 Views)

Re: X-Y scale

02-12-2008 06:29 AM in reply to: Reier
Try this. I can't take credit, but thanks to the unknown author
It essentially makes a block of the selected entities, erases the entities, and inserts the block at a specified scale factor.
~~~Civil 3D 2008~~~
*Anthony Mason
Message 5 of 8 (1,991 Views)

Re: X-Y scale

02-12-2008 08:05 AM in reply to: Reier
Ooooo, that's shiny! .-)
The only things I don't like about it are that it explodes polylines to
lines, and it sets EXPERT to 1, instead of reverting back to the previous
value.


wrote in message news:5845342@discussion.autodesk.com...
Try this. I can't take credit, but thanks to the unknown author
It essentially makes a block of the selected entities, erases the entities,
and inserts the block at a specified scale factor.
*Gordon Stephens
Message 6 of 8 (1,991 Views)

Re: X-Y scale

02-12-2008 10:15 AM in reply to: Reier
That's a good one - only thing is, in Tools>Options>System, I have 'Beep on
error in user input' checked, and this routine is triggering that beep! Any
idea what?
--
Gordon


wrote in message news:5845342@discussion.autodesk.com...
Try this. I can't take credit, but thanks to the unknown author
It essentially makes a block of the selected entities, erases the entities,
and inserts the block at a specified scale factor.
Member
stianhaugli
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-02-2009
Message 7 of 8 (1,991 Views)

Re: X-Y scale

06-02-2009 03:05 AM in reply to: Reier
You can try this too Fit.lsp

It uses an anonymous block, and takes angle into account. (ie object can be scaled to fit "in situ") or when in UCS.

I can take the credit for it - please dont alter or re-distribute the code. thanks



I havent coded it to "industrial strenght" - but i may keep refining it with your feedback.


Member
stianhaugli
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-02-2009
Message 8 of 8 (1,991 Views)

Re: X-Y scale

06-02-2009 04:35 AM in reply to: Reier
OK, I polished it a bit for user friendlyness.. It does the job very nicely indeed.

I'm still puzzled by the fact that "Fit" still isn't a built in Autocad function.

anyway. you got one now..

cheers

STIAN
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.