AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

richardw66
Message 1 of 9 (732 Views)

UPSIDE DOWN DIMENSION TEXT

732 Views, 8 Replies
02-07-2008 03:59 AM
Is is possible to get to the bottom of how and why the phenomenon of UPSIDE DOWN DIMENSION TEXT occurs?

You can check back over all the previous versions of AutoCad and in is an ever re-occurring subject in the forums yet the problem never gets answered. I cannot believe that someone within the AutoDesk organisation doesn't monitor this forum and issue the 'Be All and End All' of the subject.

I have been using AutoCAD since 1982 still don't know the answer. Back then it was Version 1.2 and consisted of a 5.25" floppy disk in drive A and another in drive B to draw on!

The problem is this:

When you draw a dimension it takes on the characteristics of the UCS that was current when the dimension was created. If after placing the dimension the UCS is changed, depending in which rotation, the text can appear as being 'upside down'. Now I've tried at lengths in the past to get to the bottom as how and why but have always come to the conclusion that it was a pain in the ass and having failed to find an easy answer the best way to correct it was to delete the offending dimensions and redraw them again.

However, I now have a project where an electronic topographic survey has been carried out and it has been decided to adopt the Origin Point of that survey. Adjusting the origin and having to also rotate the CAD models sightly has resulted in all the dimension text being upside down. It's not just a case of being upside down, it also clashes with other items as naturally when you're placing the original dimension you do so the position the text in the best place also.

I have 20 CAD Models containing literally 1000's of dimension and I can't possibly redraw them all, I'm sure there are plenty of people out there who know exactly where I'm coming from so what is the answer.