AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
kingtut
Posts: 668
Registered: ‎02-22-2008
Message 11 of 19 (1,212 Views)

Re: Undo command is disabled

03-21-2008 10:06 AM in reply to: DLAWSON
acaddoc.lsp or go to CUI and see what is set to run at acad startup.
Valued Contributor
DLAWSON
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 12 of 19 (1,212 Views)

Re: Undo command is disabled

03-21-2008 10:39 AM in reply to: DLAWSON
Ok, everything was normal in both my startup suite and in my acaddoc.lsp file. BUT, I did notice that when I open up AutoCAD it pulls in a customization group that it shouldn't. Also, it apparently cannot find a certain file that it needs to utilize the electrical tools embedded in AutoCAD. (I use AutoCAD Electrical) Anyway, here is what I get when I start up:

Customization file loaded successfully. Customization Group: ACAD
Customization file loaded successfully. Customization Group: CUSTOM
Customization file loaded successfully. Customization Group: DBCONNECT
Customization file loaded successfully. Customization Group: ELECTRICAL
Customization file loaded successfully. Customization Group: EDWPUBLISHER
Regenerating layout.
Regenerating model.
Initializing VBA System...
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Acade 2008\Acade\acade.arx cannot find a dll or other
file that it needs.
AutoCAD menu utilities loaded.toolbar Enter toolbar name or [ALL]:
EDWPUBLISHER.eDrawing Publisher
Enter an option [Show/Hide/Left/Right/Top/Bottom/Float] : show
AutoCAD Electrical menu utilities ; error: no function definition:
WD_ARX_FORMAT_PATH
*Cancel*
Enter an UNDO control option [All/None/One/Combine] :
Command: COMMANDLINE

-NOTE- It's the EDWPUBLISHER customization group that shouldn't be loading.
Contributor
n7pam
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎03-19-2008
Message 13 of 19 (1,211 Views)

Re: Undo command is disabled

03-21-2008 11:30 AM in reply to: DLAWSON
One thing to remember is that if you precede a command with the prefix ._ (dot underscore) (Example: ._UNDO) you will ensure that AutoCAD uses its internal definition of the English UNDO command. If that works while the straight UNDO command does not work then you will know that some other process is intercepting the UNDO command ... LISP, reactors, etc.
*Dean Saadallah
Message 14 of 19 (1,210 Views)

Re: Undo command is disabled

03-21-2008 12:45 PM in reply to: DLAWSON
Uninstall the undesired add-on if need be in Windows: there is no such core
error message in the core program that says
"..U command disabled. Use UNDO command to turn it on.."
that's a customization.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
Add-on products for LT
http://www.pendean.com/lt
--
*Ken Krupa
Message 15 of 19 (1,210 Views)

Re: Undo command is disabled

03-21-2008 01:26 PM in reply to: DLAWSON
Dean is mistaken. It is the result of Undo>Control>None:

Command: undo
Enter the number of operations to undo or [Auto/Control/BEgin/End/Mark/Back]
<1>: c
Enter an UNDO control option [All/None/One] : none

Command: l
LINE Specify first point:
Specify next point or [Undo]:
Specify next point or [Undo]:

Command: u
U command disabled. Use UNDO command to turn it on

Some lisp must be doing this.

Dean Saadallah wrote:
> Uninstall the undesired add-on if need be in Windows: there is no such core
> error message in the core program that says
> "..U command disabled. Use UNDO command to turn it on.."
> that's a customization.
>
*Tony Tanzillo
Message 16 of 19 (1,210 Views)

Re: Undo command is disabled

03-21-2008 07:28 PM in reply to: DLAWSON
"Dean Saadallah" wrote :

>> there is no such core error message in the core program that says <<

Keep up the good work.....

--
http://www.caddzone.com

AcadXTabs: MDI Document Tabs for AutoCAD 2008
Supporting AutoCAD 2000 through 2008
http://www.acadxtabs.com
*Tony Tanzillo
Message 17 of 19 (1,210 Views)

Re: Undo command is disabled

03-21-2008 07:28 PM in reply to: DLAWSON
As Ken pointed out, Dean is wrong.

It looks like some customization (probably AutoCAD electrical) is doing something when a drawing is opened, that it doesn't want to allow you to undo, so it temporarily disables UNDO, does what it needs to do, and then enables UNDO afterward.

The problem is that a program error occurs after undo has been enabled, and before the point where it is enabled again, and that is what is leaving it disabled.

The message about not being able to find a file, indicates there is a missing DLL which the ACADE.ARX file is dependent on.

Without getting into the use of programmer tools like Depends.exe, the easiest way to resolve this is either install/repair or a complete uninstall/reinstall.

--
http://www.caddzone.com

AcadXTabs: MDI Document Tabs for AutoCAD 2008
Supporting AutoCAD 2000 through 2008
http://www.acadxtabs.com

wrote in message news:5882568@discussion.autodesk.com...
Ok, everything was normal in both my startup suite and in my acaddoc.lsp file. BUT, I did notice that when I open up AutoCAD it pulls in a customization group that it shouldn't. Also, it apparently cannot find a certain file that it needs to utilize the electrical tools embedded in AutoCAD. (I use AutoCAD Electrical) Anyway, here is what I get when I start up:

Customization file loaded successfully. Customization Group: ACAD
Customization file loaded successfully. Customization Group: CUSTOM
Customization file loaded successfully. Customization Group: DBCONNECT
Customization file loaded successfully. Customization Group: ELECTRICAL
Customization file loaded successfully. Customization Group: EDWPUBLISHER
Regenerating layout.
Regenerating model.
Initializing VBA System...
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Acade 2008\Acade\acade.arx cannot find a dll or other
file that it needs.
AutoCAD menu utilities loaded.toolbar Enter toolbar name or [ALL]:
EDWPUBLISHER.eDrawing Publisher
Enter an option [Show/Hide/Left/Right/Top/Bottom/Float] : show
AutoCAD Electrical menu utilities ; error: no function definition:
WD_ARX_FORMAT_PATH
*Cancel*
Enter an UNDO control option [All/None/One/Combine] :
Command: COMMANDLINE

-NOTE- It's the EDWPUBLISHER customization group that shouldn't be loading.
Valued Contributor
DLAWSON
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 18 of 19 (1,212 Views)

Re: Undo command is disabled

03-28-2008 06:46 AM in reply to: DLAWSON
I think that I finally fixed it. I found that eDrawings had installed a .cui file when the program was downloaded. Every time I would open AutoCAD or a drawing, it would get loaded as a partial cui file. After deleting this file as well as some .mns & .mnl files to prevent it from loading, everything went back to normal. My undo command works again. Thanks alot for all of your help everybody.
Active Member
cmellison
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 19 of 19 (782 Views)

Re: Undo command is disabled

10-31-2012 06:58 AM in reply to: kingtut

I wish my U command would work. I always have to turn UNDO to "ALL" EVERY TIME I OPEN A DRAWING!!!!!!!!!! Or I find out too late gee UNDO is disabled. So annoying!!!!! Just started happening when we updated to 2013 Electrical HUM!!!

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.