AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Contributor
24 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-26-2002
Post 1 of 13

Surface to Solid 3D, how To ?

227 Views, 12 Replies
04-20-2006 08:28 AM
Hi,

I have a surface composed with circles, lines etc...I would like it to be converted to a 3D solid witn 1 inch thickness. I've tried the EXTRUDE and SWEEP command, but both will result in a SHELL style 3D. I mean its not SOLID PLAIN, I have like a metal sheet effect...

Any idea on how to turn a surface in SOLID PLAIN ?

Thx,

Adi,
*Expert Elite*
28,607 Posts
2,122 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 2 of 13

Re: Surface to Solid 3D, how To ?

04-20-2006 08:35 AM in reply to: gasma1975
Zip and post the file.
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
24 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-26-2002
Post 3 of 13

Re: Surface to Solid 3D, how To ?

04-20-2006 08:38 AM in reply to: gasma1975
Hi,

Thx for the help, what command do you use ?
*Expert Elite*
28,607 Posts
2,122 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 4 of 13

Re: Surface to Solid 3D, how To ?

04-20-2006 08:44 AM in reply to: gasma1975
You need closed polyline to extrude.

>I have like a metal sheet effect...

You are extruding surfaces because the boundary is not a continuous polyline.
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
28,607 Posts
2,122 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 5 of 13

Re: Surface to Solid 3D, how To ?

04-20-2006 08:51 AM in reply to: gasma1975
Try this one instead. Use the Presspull command and click inside the boundary. Then turn on the Inside layer and repeat.
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
28,607 Posts
2,122 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Post 6 of 13

Re: Surface to Solid 3D, how To ?

04-20-2006 08:53 AM in reply to: gasma1975
Is this what you wanted?
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015-SP1 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
24 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-26-2002
Post 7 of 13

Re: Surface to Solid 3D, how To ?

04-20-2006 08:55 AM in reply to: gasma1975
Can I convert my lines to POLYLINE ?
Distinguished Contributor
4,994 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Post 8 of 13

Re: Surface to Solid 3D, how To ?

04-20-2006 09:00 AM in reply to: gasma1975
You don't have to if you use the presspull command.

Normally you would use the pe command but in this case you have an ellipse that you would need to create with pellipse.
*Jason Rhymes
Post 9 of 13

Re: Surface to Solid 3D, how To ?

04-20-2006 09:00 AM in reply to: gasma1975
Yes, with PEDIT > Join
Contributor
24 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-26-2002
Post 10 of 13

Re: Surface to Solid 3D, how To ?

04-20-2006 09:03 AM in reply to: gasma1975
Hello,

Pedit works only for polyline, my half of ellipse is not recongnized and can't be joined.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post