AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Active Contributor
fishman1
Message 1 of 16 (540 Views)

rendering simulating trees and people with opacity maps

540 Views, 15 Replies
06-06-2008 01:30 PM
i am using a 2008 student version of autocad,i am self taught i have made pretty good progress drawing in 3d and creating some simple renderings but i am trying to add trees and people with opacity maps i already can insert 3d models of trees and people but i would like to learn how to use the maps too , i have the book mastering autocad 2008 and autocad lt 2008 by george omura, i am trying to do the example he gives starting on page 679 simulating trees and people with opacity maps i can create the material and planar surface but when it comes to rendering the planar box still shows up i thought it would be invisible and just the tree would show up i hope someone can help thanks
Distinguished Contributor
JNieman
Message 2 of 16 (540 Views)

Re: rendering simulating trees and people with opacity maps

06-08-2008 10:34 AM in reply to: fishman1
Is your opacity map set to "fit to gizmo" ?

It's actually hard to trouble shoot your case without the actual object, really. There're many things that could make it fail that are common mistakes.

To make an object that you want, there're a few things that need happen.

I usually use a box with minimal thickness, myself, but a region or surface would work the same, I assume.

First, the object must have the diffuse map set to the image of the tree as it would appear in reality.

Second, it must have an opacity map that marks the parts NOT to be shown in black. The remaining area that WILL be shown can be in any color, but generally and simply put, the darker the pixel, the more transparent it'll be. That's why you typically see black-and-white images, or in certain cases, greyscale images. Sometimes you want varying transparency, but usually it's just a black/white "cutout"