AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
cadcamm99
Posts: 161
Registered: ‎04-12-2005
Message 1 of 9 (3,787 Views)

Problems with VBA apps with 2009 64bit

3787 Views, 8 Replies
12-11-2008 06:45 AM
I have just moved over to autocad 2009 64 bit. However I nomally loaded my VBA apps in the Load/Unload Startup Suite. After doing this, I closed Autocad and received a message to save all of my VBA apps. I said yes. I then opened Autocad and it seemed to be working fine until I minimized Autocad. I could not open it again. It stays minimized. I then right clicked on the minimized icon and closed Autocad. After opening it again I removed the VBA apps from the Startup Suite and I was able to minimize and open Autocad without any problems. Does anyone know what is happing with the 64-bit version of Autocad 2009? It was working fine with the 32bit version.
*Norman Yuan
Message 2 of 9 (3,786 Views)

Re: Problems with VBA apps with 2009 64bit

12-12-2008 06:42 AM in reply to: cadcamm99

I am not sure what is the cause of this, but it
could be related to the way VBA code running in 64bit Acad. VBA as a
application custom development paltform is not supported on 64bit application.
SInce Acad has tied it to VBA almost 10 year and cannot affort to drop it
completely with its 64bit line of products (CAD work is very hungry on momery,
hence the quick adopt to 64bit thing). So, Acad 64 bit version has to run a
parallel out-process emulator to support Acad VBA code, which is very different
from 32bit Acad, in which VBA code is run inside Acad process. VBA routine in
64bit Acad will be noticeable slow, and there could also be other issues, such
as you ran into, whether is is only unique to your setup or not.

 

If your CAD work heavily relies on VBA
applications, moving to 64-bit Acad is a risky step. Since sooner or later, most
CAD machine will run 64-bit Acad, if you have lots of VBA code, you'd better
start planning to convert them to .NET API based code.

 


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I
have just moved over to autocad 2009 64 bit. However I nomally loaded my VBA
apps in the Load/Unload Startup Suite. After doing this, I closed Autocad and
received a message to save all of my VBA apps. I said yes. I then opened
Autocad and it seemed to be working fine until I minimized Autocad. I could
not open it again. It stays minimized. I then right clicked on the minimized
icon and closed Autocad. After opening it again I removed the VBA apps from
the Startup Suite and I was able to minimize and open Autocad without any
problems. Does anyone know what is happing with the 64-bit version of Autocad
2009? It was working fine with the 32bit version.
*Terry W. Dotson
Message 3 of 9 (3,786 Views)

Re: Problems with VBA apps with 2009 64bit

12-12-2008 06:55 AM in reply to: cadcamm99
Norman Yuan wrote:

> VBA routine in 64bit Acad will be noticeable slow, and there could
> also be other issues ...

Its worth noting that even issuing the VBAMAN command in 64bit AutoCAD
(not even loading a module) loads x64VBAServer.exe which makes
everything (including AutoCAD commands) run as much as 6-8x slower.

Porting to .NET is top priority here.

Terry
Contributor
mwelcharfa
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎11-26-2008
Message 4 of 9 (3,786 Views)

Re: Problems with VBA apps with 2009 64bit

09-25-2009 04:19 AM in reply to: cadcamm99
Check how you are unloading the VBA files, if you are sending a command through AutoCAD, use the VBA unload function "ThisDrawing.Application.Unload("VBA Name")"
New Member
joffie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-25-2010
Message 5 of 9 (3,787 Views)

Re: Problems with VBA apps with 2009 64bit

05-25-2010 01:02 PM in reply to: cadcamm99
You just became my biggest hero!.

i did your trick and it worked !!! ACAD 2010, however with the following difference

i started a vb.net sln loading/reference interop, thus enabling thisdrawing!!!!

be advised you state

"ThisDrawing.Application.Unload("VBA Name")" where it should be:

"ThisDrawing.Application.UnloadDVB("VBA Name")"
also vba name = "entire path, so c:/bla/bla"



ps the x64vbaserver still runs but .....
NO MORE SLOW ACAD/64 BIT!!!!!

any questions i'll be happy to help:
Jorit Focke
jof@shl.nl
Member
lexingtonsteel
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-04-2010
Message 6 of 9 (3,692 Views)

Re: Problems with VBA apps with 2009 64bit

08-04-2010 11:45 AM in reply to: joffie

I'm just running AutoCAD 32bit on my 64bit Windows using this tool, saves all the hassle and worry for me. Might help others too.

 

Edited by
Discussion_Admin

Distinguished Contributor
chillme1
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎01-30-2008
Message 7 of 9 (3,465 Views)

Re: Problems with VBA apps with 2009 64bit

10-19-2010 02:24 AM in reply to: lexingtonsteel

Lexingtonsteel

 

Longbow Converter 2 Usage:

 

I didn't have any luck installing with this application in AutoCAD Mechanical 2011. I (thought) i copied everything from the DVD and followed the directions. In fact, the developer created and e-mailed a special version for AutoCAD Mechanical 2011.

 

 

Longbow Converter 2 QUESTION: Did your AutoCAD DVD have both a 64 and x86 subfolder? Did you point to one of these two folders or to the main folder?

Thanks for your comments,

Clint Hill
Active Contributor
tomhurns
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎07-21-2010
Message 8 of 9 (3,422 Views)

Re: Problems with VBA apps with 2009 64bit

10-23-2010 10:16 AM in reply to: cadcamm99

I don't think that Longbow Software supports Mechanical - it doesn't say it on the list of supported AutoCAD's...

Distinguished Contributor
chillme1
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎01-30-2008
Message 9 of 9 (3,394 Views)

Re: Problems with VBA apps with 2009 64bit

10-26-2010 08:30 AM in reply to: tomhurns

The developers at Longbow created a Mechanical version after I requested it. I tried the software unsuccessfully after several attempts and working with the developers. I would recommend this product and commend the developers there on the excellent and swift responses.

 

I think the problem lies with my particular Win 7 installation and not with their software as other MS Office 2003 are developing.

Thanks for your comments,

Clint Hill
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!