AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
*Expert Elite*
6,274 Posts
485 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Post 91 of 118

Re: One or more objects in this drawing cannot be saved to the specified format

03-31-2010 10:33 AM in reply to: nrz13
Do you have RD or the RD enabler installed?
Contributor
18 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-02-2008
Post 92 of 118

Re: One or more objects in this drawing cannot be saved to the specified format

04-01-2010 12:25 AM in reply to: nrz13
Whatever was wrong with 2010 (ended up reinstalling 2009 because of the above) seems to have been fixed in 2011. I no longer get the above error message when working on exactly the same drawings.
*Expert Elite*
6,274 Posts
485 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Post 93 of 118

Re: One or more objects in this drawing cannot be saved to the specified format

04-01-2010 05:57 AM in reply to: nrz13
My problems were in 2009. Autodesk had said that it would be fixed in 2010 but obviously wasn't. I'm glad to hear that it's been adressed in 2011.
Allen
Distinguished Contributor
169 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎03-10-2008
Post 94 of 118

Re: One or more objects in this drawing cannot be saved to the specified format

07-14-2010 09:20 AM in reply to: kmiller

We are encountering this same problem with several of my users. We do not understand why we cannot save the file. It is a random problem that occurs every once in a while. Any solutions yet?

 

G

Valued Mentor
712 Posts
59 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-30-2007
Post 95 of 118

Re: One or more objects in this drawing cannot be saved to the specified format

09-27-2010 06:28 AM in reply to: Got2know

I even opened a ticket with Autodesk. They offered the usual advice and even suggested some things that our IT guy had no clue what they were talking about. We still have this issue. It only started with us when we got off our Novell network and onto a Windows network. About half of us are using Win 7 64 bit. Most are on some Autodesk 2010 product, but some are on 2011. Its happening to most of us occassionally. Most of the time we can just hit the space bar to re-issue the qsave command and it saves. Sometimes it just plain ol' won't save.

Lyle.

Valued Mentor
712 Posts
59 Kudos
Registered: ‎08-30-2007
Post 96 of 118

Re: One or more objects in this drawing cannot be saved to the specified format

09-27-2010 10:23 AM in reply to: hardin

Okay, here's what's worked for us... at least for the past 2 hours.

After reading a few threads about Indexing causing some problems, I went to the folder that a user with this problem was working in and turned off indexing for the whole folder. See attachment.

I also deleted all the sav*.tmp files in that folder. (Actually on the whole network)
So far, she's been able to save just fine.
I just wish I would've just done one thing at a time 'cause I don't really know what solved the problem (if it's even solved)....
Lyle.
New Member
1 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-13-2011
Post 97 of 118

Re: One or more objects in this drawing cannot be saved to the specified format

01-13-2011 10:23 AM in reply to: nrz13

I had the same problem but i later realived that the drive on which the drawing was was full. I was able to save after freeing some space.

Distinguished Contributor
202 Posts
7 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-23-2007
Post 98 of 118

Re: One or more objects in this drawing cannot be saved to the specified format

03-09-2011 04:16 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

NOT fixed in 2011, I've had drawings that have this issue, then i purge audit and they save ok, and a few minutes later same issue, I leave autosave on so that at least i will know if there is an issue (pop up appears when trying to autosave) as often when I go to audit it crashes. Mainly happens when working with corridors or corridor surfaces

Distinguished Contributor
202 Posts
7 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-23-2007
Post 99 of 118

Re: One or more objects in this drawing cannot be saved to the specified format

03-09-2011 04:47 AM in reply to: hardin

The indexing suggestion is an interesting one, I have a similar issue with realtime anti virus but not sure how it would explain a continual problem with a drawing.

Does anyone know the core reason for the error??

It would appear that there is a corruption in the file potentially caused by;

deletion of refference objects, - Drawing doesn't know where object is thus confused database; easy fix

having RD on your system - I don't understnad this one really but aparently it's fixed??

trying to write to a disk that is full or in use at time of write, - I'm guessing while transferring data from ram to disk it is possible to suddenly loose continuity of the file if there is a read/write issue, not sure how this ties in with the .tmp files?

 

So audit works to let you save once or twice (without seeming to fix any errors) so why does the issue reoccur in the same drawing?

 

*Expert Elite*
24,273 Posts
1,602 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Post 100 of 118

Re: One or more objects in this drawing cannot be saved to the specified format

03-09-2011 05:45 AM in reply to: O.Maille

"... then i purge audit and they save ok, and a few minutes later same issue..."

 

So the problem either is never fixed, or is re-established through a series of commands or functions: WBLOCK and INSERT into a working template file to see if the problem goes away.

 

AECTOACAD command is great at removing AEC content that are not native to your plain AutoCAD version.

 

And what is a corridor surface? I take it you're not using plain AutoCAD 2011 where you are posting? Or are you, but the file is from a vertical?

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!