AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Valued Contributor
Jim_Earle
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎11-14-2007
Message 11 of 27 (3,190 Views)

Re: Mtext Editor - Editor Toolbar location

02-16-2011 10:20 AM in reply to: Jim_Earle

I did just type MTEXTED and put in oldeditor and when I double click the mtext the formating toolbar does what it is suppose to. It opens right above the text. However there are like none of the formating options on it. When I set it back to internal though it opens in the center of my screen. :smileysad:

Valued Contributor
CCDesigner
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎06-23-2010
Message 12 of 27 (3,180 Views)

Re: Mtext Editor - Editor Toolbar location

02-16-2011 11:02 AM in reply to: Jim_Earle

That's odd. It sounds to me like it's acting the opposite of what it should be doing.

 

What happens when you enter "." (period) for MTEXTED?

--
R. Williams
AutoCAD 2010 Certified Professional
<!-- If all else fails hit F1 -->
---AutoCAD 2013---
Valued Contributor
Jim_Earle
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎11-14-2007
Message 13 of 27 (3,179 Views)

Re: Mtext Editor - Editor Toolbar location

02-16-2011 11:08 AM in reply to: CCDesigner

I actually tried that as well and it still showed up in the middle of the screen. I checked the other computer in my office that is identical to mine and his settings are "internal" for MTEXTED and then his MTEXTFIXED is set to 2. I just dont get it

Valued Contributor
CCDesigner
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎06-23-2010
Message 14 of 27 (3,174 Views)

Re: Mtext Editor - Editor Toolbar location

02-16-2011 11:39 AM in reply to: Jim_Earle

I'm assuming you set yours (MTEXTFIXED) to 2 as well?! There is obviously a variable that is affecting your display somewhere. The question is which variable?

 

All I can recommend at this point is to turn the MTEXTTOOLBAR off (set to 0) if it bother's you that much. Doing that will default to the Ribbon, but you'll have all the editing.

 

 Good Luck!!

--
R. Williams
AutoCAD 2010 Certified Professional
<!-- If all else fails hit F1 -->
---AutoCAD 2013---
Valued Contributor
Jim_Earle
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎11-14-2007
Message 15 of 27 (3,171 Views)

Re: Mtext Editor - Editor Toolbar location

02-16-2011 11:43 AM in reply to: CCDesigner

I have it set to 2 now. I have tried everything. I hate the ribbons also. I just need to find out which variable it is that is controlling it. Its frustrating. I think short of trying to re-install or repair the installation I dont really know what else to do. I just installed AutoCAD at home and it works normal there. However my problem there is everytime I close a drawing it asks if I want to close the command line window repetadly and then fatal errors. But thats for a different topic of discussion lol

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,240
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 16 of 27 (3,167 Views)

Re: Mtext Editor - Editor Toolbar location

02-16-2011 11:53 AM in reply to: Jim_Earle

Run REGEDIT . Search for MTEXTFIXED and modify its data, it should set to 1, because:

 

0 Mtext Editor works in-place based on the text height and size on screen. If text is too large or small the in-place editing will not be used.


1 Mtext Editor will not use in-place editing and will be displayed at the last used size and location

Valued Contributor
Jim_Earle
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎11-14-2007
Message 17 of 27 (3,162 Views)

Re: Mtext Editor - Editor Toolbar location

02-16-2011 12:03 PM in reply to: Jim_Earle

Ok this confuses me. When I do a search in regedit I get 1 result

 

I get this for the value name: 7D2F387510099040012000060BECB6AB

 

and for the vaule data I get: C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2011\Help\contexthelp\MTEXTFIXED.htm

 

I am not sure what I have to change.

 

There is also a default on in the same folder and I tried setting the value data to 1 there but it didnt work. The formating toolbar still came up in the center of the screen.

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,240
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 18 of 27 (3,156 Views)

Re: Mtext Editor - Editor Toolbar location

02-16-2011 12:18 PM in reply to: Jim_Earle

Nothing like this snap shot?

May be more info. needed to get this fixed.

All drawings do this? Type of fonts, Win 7 or Xp, Compare setvars with other PC, Registry keys...

Valued Contributor
Jim_Earle
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎11-14-2007
Message 19 of 27 (3,135 Views)

Re: Mtext Editor - Editor Toolbar location

02-17-2011 05:03 AM in reply to: Jim_Earle

Nope. Mine looks nothing like that. Attached is what I get. When I do a search I get this one and only result. I have actually compared system variables before and found none to be different. There were a few here and there but they had nothing to do with text. I did end up trying to make them match but no success on fixing my issue. My computer uses windows 7 32 bit and we use AutoCAD 2011. I know this is for the 2009 version but the post was the exact same issue I have so I posted my question here thinking someone found the solution before.  Would love it to work normal thoguh lol

Active Member
Cad_Monkey
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-28-2008
Message 20 of 27 (2,682 Views)

Re: Mtext Editor - Editor Toolbar location

03-28-2012 08:40 AM in reply to: CADMunkee

I know this is an old thread but in an effort to alieviate the frustration of the few people that stumble upon this thread for which my solution may hold the answer, I shall post this. I was having this very same issue and it was driving me nuts as well. No command in autocad would fix it and no registry editing helped. When I read geekster's reply about drivers possibly being the reason a light bulb went on in my head. I have an AMD graphics card and they have a plug-in called desktop manager (enabled and disabled under the Hydravision tab in Catalyst Control Center). It controls window placement, etc. I disabled this add-on and bingo, my cad windows were back where they belong!

 

PS: Nice name CADMunkee! Kudos to you just for that.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.