AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

war22cat
Message 1 of 6 (303 Views)

Modifying a 3D object

303 Views, 5 Replies
12-14-2012 11:21 PM

Dear Forum Members,

I have AutoCad 2007 and am using it to generate a 3D model shape and to then calculate the volume of the shape.  I'm new to 3D modelling and I'm expriencing difficulties in generating the required shape.  I started off with a rectangle then extruded it.  I now want to edit the front and back faces of the rectangle so that they are slanted in at an angle of 60 degrees.

I have tried various methods (Taper Face, Move Face) however having gone through the various steps (select face, select point o origin, etc. ) it just reverts back to "Enter a face editing option" with the drop down list (Extrude, Move, Rotate, Offset, Taper, Delete, Copy, coLor, mAterial).  I'm not sure if I have any settings or views incorrectly set.  I've tried various things but no success.

Can anyone please help me out here.  My file is attached.

war22cat
Message 2 of 6 (299 Views)

Re: Modifying a 3D object

12-15-2012 01:09 AM in reply to: war22cat
After a lot of trial and error I managed to get one of the faces tapered however, when I used the same procedure it doesn't work on the other face. I wanted the same taper applied to the other face (see attached file). I've tried orienting the 3D shape in various ways to select the face however it just doesn't seem to work. If anyone can provide some guidance it would be appreciated.
Valued Contributor
Patchy
Message 3 of 6 (284 Views)

12-15-2012 07:17 AM in reply to: war22cat

How about draw a rectangle, copy it and then use LOFT or if not copy it use EXTRUDE command

(They provide different grip points)

(I'm not sure 2007 has LOFT command)

After that you can click on the grip and make taper.

*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Message 4 of 6 (277 Views)

12-15-2012 08:05 AM in reply to: Patchy

Hi,

>> I'm not sure 2007 has LOFT command

it has :smileywink: (>>>click<<<)

- alfred -