AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Member
3 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-27-2012
Post 1 of 6
Accepted Solution

Missing layer manager

692 Views, 5 Replies
12-27-2012 09:00 AM

Recently, my layer manager does not work.  It has worked previously, but not now.  I have rebooted AutoCAD, but to no avail.  Anybody have any suggestions?  Thanks for your assistance!

Hi,

 

>> When I try to access layer manager, it just freezes up.

Am I right that AutoCAD does not really freeze, it's just waiting for finishing the layermanager? Try to start the layermanager and then press <ESC> ==> my bet is: AutoCAD is now back and working.

 

If I'm right, then the layermanager is off the visible screen area (as Patchy suggested). Therefore try:

  • start layermanager
  • press <ALT> <SPACE>
  • ==> you'll get a popup-menu,
  • use your cursor key <DOWN> to go down in the menu to "Move", then press <ENTER>
  • ==> you are now in move-mode for the dialog window
  • use your cursor keys (on your keyboard!) to move the dialog to the center of the screen
  • at the moment you see the layermanager you can start moving your mouse to position the dialog, then click left mouse button

 

HTH, - alfred -

Valued Contributor
99 Posts
12 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-04-2012
Post 2 of 6

Re: Missing layer manager

12-27-2012 09:37 AM in reply to: mitchelldub

Missing, it could be off the screen (With dual screen it can be on the other monitor)

Member
3 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-27-2012
Post 3 of 6

Re: Missing layer manager

12-27-2012 09:53 AM in reply to: Patchy

Thanks for the response.  I had thought of that, but did not find anything on my other monitor.  When I try to access layer manager, it just freezes up.

Valued Contributor
99 Posts
12 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-04-2012
Post 4 of 6

Re: Missing layer manager

12-27-2012 10:01 AM in reply to: mitchelldub

Another cause maybe that an antivirus had wiped out layer manager. It thinks pop up was a spam and killed it.


Repair your Autocad.

*Expert Elite*
9,836 Posts
1,219 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Post 5 of 6

Re: Missing layer manager

12-27-2012 11:47 AM in reply to: mitchelldub

Hi,

 

>> When I try to access layer manager, it just freezes up.

Am I right that AutoCAD does not really freeze, it's just waiting for finishing the layermanager? Try to start the layermanager and then press <ESC> ==> my bet is: AutoCAD is now back and working.

 

If I'm right, then the layermanager is off the visible screen area (as Patchy suggested). Therefore try:

  • start layermanager
  • press <ALT> <SPACE>
  • ==> you'll get a popup-menu,
  • use your cursor key <DOWN> to go down in the menu to "Move", then press <ENTER>
  • ==> you are now in move-mode for the dialog window
  • use your cursor keys (on your keyboard!) to move the dialog to the center of the screen
  • at the moment you see the layermanager you can start moving your mouse to position the dialog, then click left mouse button

 

HTH, - alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Member
3 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-27-2012
Post 6 of 6

Re: Missing layer manager

12-27-2012 01:33 PM in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

That was the answer.  Thanks for your help, it is greatly appreciated!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!