AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

niket99
Message 1 of 9 (2,211 Views)

Lisp Routine to rename All the Layouts

2211 Views, 8 Replies
06-22-2012 04:38 AM

Hi all, 

I am new to this stuff and dont know if this has been asked before or not. I am looking for a lisp routine that allows me to rename my layouts without opening the drawing itself.

kind regards

nick

Distinguished Mentor
Moshe-A
Message 2 of 9 (2,194 Views)

Re: Lisp Routine to rename All the Layouts

06-22-2012 12:54 PM in reply to: niket99

Nick,

provide more details on what you plan to do?

does the existing layouts names are known in advance?

do you have many files that need to be layouts rename?

Moshe

Valued Contributor
TexShalter
Message 3 of 9 (2,190 Views)

06-22-2012 02:21 PM in reply to: Moshe-A

thanks Moshe,

Tried LAYOUTMERGE.  It seems to work perfect.

But when I check the merged (original) layout - it deletes the view in that layout, even when I answer the promt not to do so.

Maybe that's just my machine or 3rd party software I'm using.

Hmm.

niket99
Message 4 of 9 (2,169 Views)

06-23-2012 03:58 AM in reply to: Moshe-A

moshe

i have a master file with 20-25 layouts in it.

i bring all the layouts with thier viewport settings into the new files. so now there are 20 files with 25 layouts and all layout names are similar in each files.

i know the new names but instead of opening each files and manually renaming all layouts  is there a way to rename all the layouts of one drawing in a single go. 

regards

nick

Distinguished Mentor
Moshe-A
Message 5 of 9 (2,160 Views)

06-23-2012 09:07 AM in reply to: niket99

Nick,

Yes, but why the same layouts names in diffrent files is a problem?

AutoCAD has no problem in dealing it.

the solusion to this can go like this:-

create a text lisp file and name it as AutoLayoutRename.lsp and save it on a the folder where all the files are

copy and paste this lisp code and save the file.