AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Member
toplitza
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-31-2009
Message 1 of 5 (1,486 Views)

Layer State Manager

1486 Views, 4 Replies
02-02-2012 08:00 AM

I’m an avid user of the capacities of the ‘’Layer State Manager’’

Somehow, lately something goes wrong with this feature !

While I’m still able to restore old saved layer states, the manager won’t accept anymore editing the properties of the layers in those saved states, as changing the color of a layer or turning off / on layers.

Now, the only way  I can do this is like that:

- From the ‘’Layer State Manager’’ I restore the saved state I intend to edit.

- I close the ‘’Layer State Manager’’ and open the ‘’Layer Properties Manager’’

- I make in the ‘’Layer Properties Manager’’ all the changes I want for my saved layer state

- I close the ‘’Layer Properties Manager’’ and open back the ‘’Layer State Manager’’

- I choose in the ‘’Layer State Manager’’ between my saved layer states the one I wanted to edit and click on ‘’Save’’ button

So, this procedure is long and not logical. The question is - How can I restore the EDIT capacities of the ‘’Layer State Manager’’ ???

Thanks in advance

I attached two screen captures showing (I hope) the problem...

Mentor
DSM_dude
Posts: 187
Registered: ‎03-08-2011
Message 2 of 5 (1,467 Views)

Re: Layer State Manager

02-03-2012 10:01 AM in reply to: toplitza

Check out this:

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=11760460&linkID=9240617

Cad Blog:
http://geauxcad.wordpress.com/
Member
toplitza
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-31-2009
Message 3 of 5 (1,459 Views)

Re: Layer State Manager

02-03-2012 12:14 PM in reply to: DSM_dude

Thanks for trying!

Unfortunately it didn’t work… and I tried both procedures found in your link !

 

I forgot to mention that I’m using the same drawing files like before, files in which the command “Layer State Manager” worked fine. So the files are the same and the machine is the same.

So, as usually happens, the change in the behavior of the “Layer State Manager”  AutoCAD  feature come suddenly and  out of the blue sky.

I’m suspecting (but I’m not a specialist) that maybe (maybe…) some changes in the company server (where the code resources and stuff like this of the AutoCAD programs are stored) were done in the Holiday season (vacation in my company) and therefore those are affecting the behavior of AutoCAD in my machine…

But this is just a guess…   

Maybe I should try to re-install AutoCAD, who knows…?

Member
toplitza
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-31-2009
Message 4 of 5 (1,417 Views)

Layer State Manager - update

02-22-2012 12:11 PM in reply to: toplitza

Hi everyone

I just want to add a new hint.

My machine is a laptop with Autocad 2009 installed.

While I'm using Autocad in the office of my company I'm plugged in a dock station, which is connected to the company servers and also to a secondary monitor.

In this situation I'm not able to use the features of "Layer State Manager" as I mentioned in my first post. 

On the other hand, when I'm using Autocad on my laptop without beeing plugged in the dock station (and without the secondary monitor also), all the features of the "Layer State Manager" are working properly and I'm able to use, edit and save layer states.

 

So, what could be changing in my Autocad settings when I'm plugged in my company dock station...??? 

Thanks again if you can help !

New Member
akow
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-13-2013
Message 5 of 5 (1,028 Views)

Re: Layer State Manager

02-13-2013 07:41 AM in reply to: toplitza

Did you ever find a solution to this problem?  I just had this happen yesterday......out of the blue!  Last week I set up a drawing (woking with 2013lt; in model space) and made the layer states.  They worked fine and I could edit them until 2 days ago and they suddenly stoped working.....I cannot edit an existing layer state at all and when I change layer states (I can see them toggle between them) is still says "unsaved layer state" not the name of the layer state I chose.

 

Any help/insight is greatly appreciated!

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.