AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Contributor
rubaru
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎11-26-2008
Message 1 of 4 (636 Views)

.JP2 files

636 Views, 3 Replies
01-04-2012 09:00 AM

I am attempting to attach an image file (.jp2) to my drawing.  I am completely successful at getting the image attached, inserted, scaled correctly, etc.  However, I am only seeing a small part of the image.  Please see the attachment for a screen shot.  Does anyone know what's going on here and (preferably) how to fix it?  The original image is not clipped like this.  I did not use IMAGECLIP.  The screen shot was taken immediately after attaching the image to the drawing.

 

Thanks!!

 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,933
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 4 (626 Views)

Re: .JP2 files

01-04-2012 02:26 PM in reply to: rubaru

Try posting in the CIVIL forum (matches your AutoCAD version).

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
New Member
jwalker2
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-15-2009
Message 3 of 4 (507 Views)

Re: .JP2 files

07-30-2012 08:28 AM in reply to: rubaru

i am having a similiar problem with .jp2 files in ACAD 2008

 

The files go in, both as XRef and as insert; can set coordinates and scale OK

 

Only the top 1/2 of the image shows; the bottom 1/2 is blacked out

 

same result with multiple images

 

Images go into ArcView Ok

 

any help will be appreciated

 

thnx

 

jwalker2

*Expert Elite*
heinsite
Posts: 880
Registered: ‎03-15-2008
Message 4 of 4 (496 Views)

Re: .JP2 files

08-01-2012 10:27 PM in reply to: jwalker2

The first thing that comes to my mind when I see this is that it may be related to video memory.  For some reason your system(s) are choking on the size of the image file.

 

As a test, and if you have software like GIMP, Photoshop, Elements, etc that can reduce the resolution and therefore the size of the image file, reduce it, save to a new filename, and try again.  If it's 600dpi, downsize and resave it as a 120 dpi file and repeat the insert.

 

If it works with a smaller file then you've confirmed a video card issue.

 

Dave.

------------------------------------------------------
Dave Hein, P.E.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.