AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Contributor
rb13
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎09-11-2008
Message 1 of 6 (6,276 Views)

How do you add new fonts to Auto Cad '09

6276 Views, 5 Replies
04-23-2010 01:39 PM
My firm has changed their logo and I need to update our title blocks to match. The new look uses fonts that are not already loaded in to Auto Cad. How do I add a new font? Thanks!
Distinguished Mentor
tschau3
Posts: 507
Registered: ‎10-04-2007
Message 2 of 6 (6,276 Views)

Re: How do you add new fonts to Auto Cad '09

04-23-2010 01:52 PM in reply to: rb13
True Type fonts (TTF) get copied into Windows font folder. Shape files (shx.) get copied into Autocads font folder as specified in Options > Files. And a restart of Autocad.
*Dean Saadallah
Message 3 of 6 (6,276 Views)

Re: How do you add new fonts to Auto Cad '09

04-24-2010 09:15 PM in reply to: rb13
How did the person(s) creating the new logo install the font on their PC? No
offense, but shouldn't you be asking them, presumably they also provided you
the font along with the logo.

--
Dean Saadallah
http://LTisACAD.blogspot.com
--
*R.K. McSwain
Message 4 of 6 (6,276 Views)

Re: How do you add new fonts to Auto Cad '09

04-25-2010 06:17 AM in reply to: rb13
RB13 wrote:
> My firm has changed their logo and I need to update our title
> blocks to match. The new look uses fonts that are not already
> loaded in to Auto Cad. How do I add a new font? Thanks!

You might consider exploding the text and/or otherwise creating the
logo without the reference of a partcular font. Why? Because it's easy
for the font to come up missing on someones machine or the textstyle
to get modified to point to a different font - the net effect of
either is a incorrect logo.

--
R.K. McSwain
http://cadpanacea.com
Mentor
markdoel
Posts: 914
Registered: ‎04-11-2008
Message 5 of 6 (6,276 Views)

Re: How do you add new fonts to Auto Cad '09

04-25-2010 11:31 PM in reply to: rb13
i would use images for logo's, this way you do not need to worry about trying to match fonts, colours or any other visual effects which may have been applied to the logo designs.

just reference the logo image(s) into your drawing frame file then each time a user references the drawing frame file the logo references will automatically reference.

the only downside is that if you BIND files the XREF's logo's will not bind so either don't bind or consider inserting the logo images into your drawing frame rather than referencing them
*Pro
Modman_4
Posts: 2,699
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 6 of 6 (6,276 Views)

Re: How do you add new fonts to Auto Cad '09

04-26-2010 06:15 AM in reply to: rb13
We went to an image file for one of our logos years ago, and as long as the XREF can find it we are okay. I also like the idea of using eTransmit to archive files, because it will include the image/logo...
I hope my info was useful, but if by some odd chance it actually solved your issue, feel free to mark your post as "Accept as Solution". Thanks! :smileyhappy:
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.