AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

AutoCAD 2007/2008/2009

Reply
Active Member
cfinch08
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-25-2011
Message 1 of 8 (2,288 Views)

How do I copy objects along a polyline?

2288 Views, 7 Replies
03-25-2011 07:13 AM

My drafting instructor showed my a command in AutoCAD where you can copy circles, rectangles, etc. along a polyline. this is what i mean...

I start out with a polyline with an object at a certain or random location on the polyline. I want to copy the object along the polyline. I placed a before and after picture of what i'm talking about. how i got the after picture is this: i used the divide command and it asked me how many segments. I entered 20 and it places 20 points along the polyline. then i had to copy the object to the snap locations of the points. is there an easier way of doing this?

untitled.JPGuntitled2.JPG

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,240
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 2 of 8 (2,281 Views)

Re: How do I copy objects along a polyline?

03-25-2011 07:37 AM in reply to: cfinch08

You make the circle into a block, use MEASURE or DIVIDE and look carefully at the prompt, it will ask you to use block.

Active Member
cfinch08
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-25-2011
Message 3 of 8 (2,273 Views)

Re: How do I copy objects along a polyline?

03-25-2011 07:45 AM in reply to: Patchy

its not doing anything. i go through the steps and it doesn't work.

 

*Pro
nestly
Posts: 1,283
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
Message 4 of 8 (2,250 Views)

Re: How do I copy objects along a polyline?

03-25-2011 11:58 PM in reply to: cfinch08

Are you sure you're paying attention to the command line as Patchy instructed?  After you select the object to measure, you'll be prompted if you want to use a block.  Type "B" for block, then enter the block name.

 

http://www.screencast.com/t/gg5JdwuUItf

 

 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,244
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 5 of 8 (2,225 Views)

Re: How do I copy objects along a polyline?

03-28-2011 05:15 AM in reply to: nestly

OP is trying a different forum for a simpler answer, but is only getting the same good advise.

 

I guess the class has not addressed blocks yet.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Member
cfinch08
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-25-2011
Message 6 of 8 (2,223 Views)

Re: How do I copy objects along a polyline?

03-28-2011 05:20 AM in reply to: cfinch08

i finally figured it out. you guys were right. the only thing i was doing wrong was not choosing the midpoint of the block i was creating. stupid me. and i'm out of school now, but i should have known to remember this. but there was a 8 month gap between gradutating and gettting a job. sorry guys.

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 22,244
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 7 of 8 (2,221 Views)

Re: How do I copy objects along a polyline?

03-28-2011 05:20 AM in reply to: cfinch08

Congrats on the new job BTW.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Active Member
cfinch08
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-25-2011
Message 8 of 8 (2,219 Views)

Re: How do I copy objects along a polyline?

03-28-2011 05:22 AM in reply to: pendean

thanks. it took forever. it took one of the other draftsman to show me what i was doing wrong. thanks for all you guys help btw.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.